the clio goes furios!

Clio Williams

clio williams
1994
scroll

RALLYING STYLE

The Renault Clio Williams was designed for rally racing (groups A and N). It was unveiled before the press in Corsica, as the stunning French island is home to well-known rally. However, it was also a big hit among amateur drivers and ultimately 12,000 Renault Clio Williams were sold, far exceeding the 2,500 required to obtain rally homologation.

1994
cliowilliams_01
cliowilliams_02
cliowilliams_03

spirit

CASUAL

SPORT

cliowilliams_04

interior

F1 IN THE

BLOOD

In 1993, after launching Renault Clio 16s (a high performer), Renault expanded its sports range with the iconic Renault Clio Williams. It was the work of Renault Sport and the Williams team, winners of the Formula 1 world championship (constructor’s title) the previous year. With a 2L engine and 150 hp, Renault Clio Williams was the benchmark among sporty hatchbacks in the 1990s.

cliowilliams_05

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

“Sporty” is probably the only word to describe the sounds of Renault Clio Williams. All that’s missing is the cheers of the crowd to take you back to the Corsican Rally (or you could perhaps add the cicadas, but their song would no doubt be drowned out by the sweet sound of the 150 HP engine!).

archives

FAST

FAMILY

Renault Clio I was unveiled in 1990 and right from its launch, it became a benchmark among city cars. Renault used the Clio base to build Renault Clio Williams and keep up with the 1990s trend for sporty hatchbacks, reiterating the success of Renault Supercinq GT Turbo.

cliowilliams_06

technical features

12,000

UNITS

SOLD

  • production

    From 1993 to 1995

    12,200 units

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders inline

    1,998 cm3,

    150 hp

    215 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,71 m
    Width 1,64 m
    Height 1,37 m
  • architecture

    two-box body with tailgate

    front-wheel drive

    front transverse engine

The Originals Store

SPEED OVER

TO THE WILLIAMS

COLLECTION

Love Renault Clio? A supporter of the F1 Williams team? Or you just love the Renault Clio Williams signature colours (blue and gold)? We’ve got something just for you!

heritage

ALMOST 30

YEARS OLD

With its first numbered models and its iconic colours, Renault Clio Williams is still very popular and is now enjoying success as a “youngtimer” (and will soon be a fully-fledged classic car!), much sought after by enthusiasts and collectors.

cliowilliams_18
cliowilliams_19
explore
The Originals

clio en mode furious

Clio Williams

clio williams
1994
scroll

GUEULE

DE RALLYE

Renault Clio Williams avait été conçue pour concourir en rallye (groupes A et N). Elle a d’ailleurs été présentée à la presse en Corse, en clin d’œil au célèbre rallye se déroulant sur l’ile de beauté. Mais, elle a également plu aux pilotes du dimanche ou en devenir, avec près de 12 000 Renault Clio Williams qui seront finalement vendues, alors que seuls 2 500 exemplaires étaient nécessaires pour obtenir l’homologation en rallye.

1994
cliowilliams_01
cliowilliams_02
cliowilliams_03

esprit

CASUAL

SPORT

cliowilliams_04

intérieur

DE LA F1 DANS

LES VEINES

En 1993, après avoir sorti Renault Clio 16s (qui n’a pas à rougir en termes de performances !), Renault étoffe sa gamme sportive avec la mythique Renault Clio Williams. C’est la créature de Renault Sport et de l’écurie Williams, qui avait d’ailleurs remporté le titre de champion de monde de Formule 1 (constructeur) l’année précédente. Avec un moteur de 2L et 150 ch, Renault Clio Williams était la réf’ des petites sportives des années 90.

cliowilliams_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Comment mieux résumer les sons de Renault Clio Williams que par “sportifs” ? Il ne manque que les cris des spectateurs pour se trouver transporter au milieu du Rallye de Corse (et peut-être aussi les cigales, mais de toute façon leur chant serait très probablement couvert par le doux son du moteur de 150 ch !)

archives

FAST

FAMILY

Renault Clio I avait été introduite en 1990 et s’était dès son lancement imposée comme référence parmi les citadines. En lançant cette Renault Clio Williams, Renault a pu utiliser la base de Renault Clio pour surfer sur l’air du temps des 90s, à savoir les voitures plus sportives, et réitérer le succès de Renault Supercinq GT Turbo.

cliowilliams_06

caractéristiques techniques

12 200

EXEMPLAIRES

VENDUS

  • production

    de 1993 à 1995

    12 200 exemplaires

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en ligne

    1 998 cm3,

    150 ch

    215 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,71 m
    largeur 1,64 m
    hauteur 1,37 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie bi-corps avec hayon

    traction

    moteur transversal avant

The Originals Store

FONCEZ SUR LA

COLLECTION

WILLIAMS

Que ce soit par amour pour Renault Clio, pour l’écurie F1 Williams ou simplement parce que les couleurs signature de Renault Clio Williams (bleu et or) sont vos favorites, vous trouverez votre bonheur !

héritage

BIENTÔT

30 ANS

Entre ces premiers exemplaires numérotés et ses couleurs iconiques, Renault Clio Williams plaît toujours autant et vit une deuxième jeunesse comme “youngtimer” (même si elle passera bientôt au statut de voiture de collection) très convoité des passionnés et collectionneurs.

cliowilliams_18
cliowilliams_19
explorer
The Originals