französische qualität

R21 2L Turbo

R21
1993
scroll

RIVALLING

THE GERMANS

When Renault launched its Renault 21 saloon, it was clearly aimed at families, with no obvious sporting vocation (there was even an estate version). However, just a year later, there was a change of direction and Renault opted to release a resolutely sporting version of Renault 21. By moving into the very specific (and prestigious) sporty saloon segment, Renault clearly had the supercharged German saloons in its sights. The race was on!

1993
R21_1
R21_2
R21_3

spirit

MORE THAN

MEETS THE EYE

Launched in 1986, Renault 21 was a resolutely family-focused saloon. As well as the two-box and three-box versions, there was also an estate (so not your regular sports model!). However, you should never judge a book by its cover and Renault 21 2L Turbo became a benchmark among sporty saloons.

R21_4

interior

SIGNATURE

PERFORMANCE

To compete with the German saloons, Renault 21 2L Turbo came with a turbocharged engine (a good start!). In addition, management of its 1,995 cm3 lightweight alloy engine was fully electronic (which was highly innovative at the time). To top it all off, disc brakes, ABS, lowered suspension and new running gear ensured excellent handling, braking and performance!

R21_5
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

Speed Demon, the 1980s hit that really sums up Renault R21 2L Turbo. It might look like a nice family car but the sound is synonymous with speed.

archives

INTERCEPTOR

With its performance, driving pleasure and aerodynamics, Renault 21 2L Turbo was an unrivalled sporty ride. The French gendarmerie took note and in the 1980s, the sporty saloon was used by its rapid intervention unit to intercept speeding drivers. Some police chase!

R21_6

technical features

TOP SPEED:

227 KPH

  • production

    14,000 units from 1987 to 1992

  • Performance and engine

    Turbocharged 4 cylinders inline, 1,995 cm3

    175 hp

    227 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 4,49 m
    Width 1,71 m
    Height 1,39 m
  • architecture

    three-box body

    front-wheel drive

    4x4 with the Quadra version

The Originals Store

RENAULT PASSION NOW

HAS ITS OWN STORE!

A Renault fan or just a classic car enthusiast? There’s something here for you!

explore
The Originals

französische qualität

R21 2L Turbo

R21
1993
scroll

À LA

HAUTEUR

DES

ALLEMANDES

Quand Renault lance la berline Renault 21, il semble évident que celle-ci cible les familles, sans vocation sportive affichée (elle sera d’ailleurs même disponible en break). Mais seulement un an après, changement de cap : Renault décide d’offrir une version radicalement sportive de Renault 21. En se lançant sur un marché très spécifique (et prestigieux), celui des berlines sportives très typées, Renault annonce la couleur : les berlines allemandes survitaminées sont dans son viseur. Go !

1993
R21_1
R21_2
R21_3

esprit

BIEN CACHER

SON JEU

Lancée en 1986, Renault 21 est une berline définitivement familiale. Elle est proposée en versions bi-corps et tri-corps puis break (pas l’archétype de la sportivité !). Cependant, l’habit ne fait pas le moine et la Renault 21 2L Turbo deviendra une référence des berlines sportives.

R21_4

intérieur

SIGNATURE

PERFORMANCE

Pour concurrencer les berlines allemandes, Renault 21 2L Turbo est équipée d’un moteur suralimenté par turbocompresseur (bon début!). De plus, la gestion de son moteur de 1995 cm3 tout en alliage léger est entièrement électronique (très novateur pour l’époque). Pour compléter le tableau, freins à disques, système ABS, suspension surbaissée et nouveaux trains roulants garantissent une tenue de route, un freinage et des performances au top !

R21_5
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Speed Demon, ce tube des années 80 résume parfaitement Renault 21 2L Turbo ! Si le look rappelle le côté familial, les sons évoquent la vitesse.

archives

INTERCEPTOR

Entre performances, agrément de conduite et aérodynamisme, Renault 21 2L Turbo est sans aucun doute une sportive hors pair. La gendarmerie française ne s’y est d’ailleurs pas trompée. Dans les années 1980, la berline sportive a équipé la brigade rapide d’intervention de la gendarmerie, pour intercepter les conducteurs en excès de vitesse. Quelle poursuite !

R21_6

caractéristiques techniques

VITESSE

DE POINTE :

227 KM/H

  • production

    14.000 exemplaires de 1987 à 1992

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en ligne turbocompressé de 1 995 cm3

    175 ch

    227 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,49 m
    largeur 1,71 m
    hauteur 1,39 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie tri-corps

    transmission aux roues avant

    transmission 4x4 sur la version Quadra

The Originals Store

LA PASSION RENAULT

A TROUVÉ SA

BOUTIQUE !

Véritable fan de Renault ou simple amateur de véhicules classiques, chacun y trouvera son bonheur.

explorer
The Originals