US version

Alliance

Renault Alliance 2
1982
scroll

WISCONSIN

STYLE

Renault Alliance was the Renault 9 version intended for the North American market, and it was adapted technologically and stylistically to the expectations of local customers. Renault Alliance was marketed between 1983 and 1987, a period during which Renault took over American Motors Corporation (AMC). The car was assembled in the Kenosha plant in Wisconsin and distributed by AMC.

1982
Twinner_Alliance_001
Twinner_Alliance_002
Twinner_Alliance_003

mindset

INTERNATIONAL

POLICY

In 1981, Renault completed its offer by presenting Renault 9 at the Frankfurt Motor Show. The model was aimed at customers looking for a reasonably priced, versatile family car. In addition, with Renault 9, Renault launched a truly global product policy, which would be all the more effective as Renault 9’s economic qualities made it popular internationally following the 2nd oil crisis. Versions were produced in every region of the world, including Renault Alliance in North America.

Twinner_Alliance_004

interior

AMERICAN

ADAPTATION

Intended for the US and Canada, Renault Alliance needed to adapt to the technical requirements of these markets. The car had to pass one additional crash test than in Europe,so Renault had to reinforce certain parts, incorporate special bumpers and parking brakes, comply with stricter pollution standards (which varied from State to State!) and pass stricter flammability tests. For customers, better cold and heat resistance was essential, as well as an automatic gearbox and air conditioning.

Twinner_Alliance_005
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Soak up the Route 66 atmosphere, listening to the sounds of Renault Alliance.

archives

GIVE

AND TAKE

In the United States, the marketing slogan for Renault Alliance was “European technology… built in America”. While the North American slogan emphasised Renault Alliance’s European origins, its French cousin, Renault 9, was nicknamed “Macadam Star” in French advertisements, a nod to its American version.

Archives_Alliance_001

technical features

460,000

UNITS

  • production

    460,000 units out of around 6.3 million

    all versions combined

    Renault 9s and Renault 11s produced

  • Performance and engine

    Top speed: 170 kph

    4 in-line, transverse cylinders

    1,721 cm³

  • dimensions
    Length 4,16 m
    Width 1,65 m
    Height 1.38 m
  • architecture

    European Renault 9 adapted technically and stylistically to American needs

The Originals Store

VF

SHOPPING

Retail therapy? Check out The Originals Renault Store website.

explore
The Originals

version US

Alliance

Renault Alliance 2
1982
scroll

WISCONSIN

STYLE

Renault Alliance est la version de Renault 9 destinée au marché nord-américain ; elle est d’ailleurs adaptée technologiquement et stylistiquement aux attentes des clients locaux. Renault Alliance sera commercialisée de 1983 à 1987, période à laquelle Renault avait pris le contrôle d’American Motors Corporation (AMC). La voiture sera assemblée dans l’usine de Kenosha, dans le Wisconsin et distribuée par AMC.

1982
Twinner_Alliance_001
Twinner_Alliance_002
Twinner_Alliance_003

esprit

POLITIQUE

INTERNATIONALE

En 1981, Renault complète son offre en présentant Renault 9 au Salon de Francfort. Le modèle vise une clientèle en quête d’une voiture familiale et polyvalente, au coût d’utilisation modéré. De plus, avec Renault 9, Renault inaugure une politique produit véritablement mondiale, qui sera d’autant plus efficace que les qualités économiques de Renault 9 la rendront populaire à l’international suite au 2ème choc pétrolier. Des versions seront produites dans toutes les régions du monde, dont Renault Alliance, en Amérique du Nord.

Twinner_Alliance_004

intérieur

ADAPTATION

AMÉRICAINE

Destinée aux Etats-Unis et au Canada, Renault Alliance doit s’adapter aux exigences techniques de ces marchés. La voiture devra passer un crash-test de plus qu’en Europe. Renault doit donc renforcer des pièces, intégrer des pare-chocs et freins de stationnement spécifiques, répondre à des normes de pollution plus sévères (qui varient selon les Etats !) et à des tests d’inflammabilité plus stricts. Pour les clients, une meilleure résistance au froid et à la chaleur est essentielle, ainsi que la boîte de vitesses automatique et la climatisation.

Twinner_Alliance_005
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Ambiance Route 66, en écoutant les sons de Renault Alliance.

archives

ÉCHANGE

DE BONS PROCÉDÉS

Aux Etats-Unis, le slogan marketing pour Renault Alliance était « European technology… built in America » (technologie européenne… construite en Amérique). Alors que le slogan nord-américain mettait en valeur l’origine européenne de Renault Alliance, sa cousine française, Renault 9, était surnommée « Macadam Star » dans les publicités françaises, comme un clin d’œil à sa version américaine.

Archives_Alliance_001

caractéristiques techniques

460 000

EXEMPLAIRES

  • production

    460 000 exemplaires sur environ 6 ,3 millions

    toutes versions confondues

    de Renault 9 et Renault 11 produites

  • performances et motorisation

    Vitesse maxi : 170 km/h

    4 cylindres en ligne, transversal

    1721 cm3

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,16 m
    largeur 1,65 m
    hauteur 1,38 m
  • architecture

    Renault 9 européenne adaptée techniquement et stylistiquement aux exigences américaines

The Originals Store

SHOPPING

VF

Shopping ou emplettes ? À vous de voir sur le site de The Originals Renault Store.

explorer
The Originals