how to beat a rolls!

R16 TX

R16
1975
scroll

THE BOOM-YEARS

SALOON

Pierre Dreyfus, chairman of Renault, wanted to launch a large saloon for baby-boom families. To symbolise the social progress of the time, the car needed to reflect a comfortable (but not ostentatious) social status and offer something original to appeal to new customers. So the question was, how to make a car as versatile as Renault 4 that would be “a car for families who are attracted to the modernity of consumer society”? The answer? Renault 16

1975
R16_1
R16_2
R16_3

spirit

THE

RULE-BREAKER

With its two-box shape and sleek lines, its tailgate and six-window bodywork, a low beltline, high roof and lack of drip rails, the Renault 16 was a radical departure from the design codes of the era. If we were to describe Renault R16 in just two words, we’d say spacious and versatile! Its inner space was arranged around six functions, enabling a range of uses to beat other saloons of its time.

R16_4

interior

EXEMPLARY

HANDLING

Renault 16 was a front-wheel drive saloon (still rare at that time) offering safe road handling. And it boasted another benefit: real driving pleasure, which was largely due to its aluminium engine, which was further improved in the TX version launched in 1973. The new engine had capacity of 1,647 cm3 and delivered 93 hp, with a 5-speed gearbox helping the car safely reach 175 kph. Unsurprisingly, it was a big hit!

R16_5

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

Renault 16 harks back to the 1970s: disco for all the family! And these sounds will also recall the little sister from which it took inspiration: Renault 4.

archives

MISTER

PRESIDENT...

R16_6

style

A WINNING

COMBINATION

When you take a good look, Renault R16 is... a big 4L! With the same two-box architecture, same tailgate, same front central engine and gearbox positioning, and the same difference between the right and left wheelbases (7 cm in Renault 16’s case), due to the rear suspension of transverse torsion bars. Why change a winning combination?

R16_7

technical features

1,851,502 UNITS

MANUFACTURED

  • production

    1,851,502 units from 1965 to 1980

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders in cast aluminium

    from 1,470 cm3 to 1,647 cm3

    55-93 hp depending on version

    142-175 kph depending on version

  • dimensions
    Length 4,24 m
    Width 1,65 m
    Height 1,45 m
  • architecture

    two-box body with tailgate

    front-wheel drive

    front mid-engine, with gearbox placed to the front of it (as on Renault 4)

The Originals Store

SWEET 16

Looking for a gift for a 1970s fan? What about our Renault 16 merchandising? A car that beat a Rolls Royce is surely worth a look!

explore
The Originals

elle a dosé une rolls !

R16 TX

R16
1975
scroll

LA BERLINE

DU BOOM

Pierre Dreyfus, président de Renault, veut lancer une grande berline destinée aux familles du baby-boom. Symbole des avancées sociales de l’époque la voiture devra refléter un niveau social confortable (mais pas ostentatoire) et être originale pour séduire une nouvelle clientèle. La question est donc : comment faire une voiture aussi polyvalente que Renault 4 et qui sera “la voiture des familles attirée par les modernités de la société de consommation” ? La réponse : Renault 16.

1975
R16_1
R16_2
R16_3

esprit

BRISER

LES CODES

Grâce à sa silhouette bicorps aux lignes tendues, son hayon arrière, sa carrosserie à 6 glaces, sa ceinture de caisse basse, son pavillon haut et son absence de gouttières, Renault 16 s’écarte radicalement des codes stylistiques de l’époque. Renault 16 se résume en deux mots : habitabilité et polyvalence. Son espace intérieur organisé autour de 6 fonctionnalités permet une variété d’usages incomparable parmi les autres berlines de l’époque.

R16_4

intérieur

COMPORTEMENT

EXEMPLAIRE

Renault 16 est une berline à traction (encore rare à l’époque), pour un comportement routier sûr. Elle dispose d'un autre atout : son agrément de conduite, qui résulte notamment de son moteur en aluminium, amélioré dans la version TX présentée en 1973. Celle-ci offre en effet un nouveau moteur de 1 647 cm3 et 93 ch, et une boite de vitesses à 5 rapports lui permettant d’atteindre les 175 km/h en toute sécurité. Sans surprise c’est un succès !

R16_5
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Renault 16 fait écho aux années 70 : du disco pour toute la famille. Et les sonorités devraient aussi vous rappeler sa petite sœur, à qui elle tout emprunté : Renault 4.

archives

M. LE

PRESIDENT...

R16_6

style

TOP

RECETTE

A bien y regarder, Renault 16 est… une grosse “4L” : même architecture bi-corps, même hayon, même positionnement avant central du moteur et de la boite de vitesse, même système de barres de torsion arrière transversales faisant qu’elles ont toutes les 2 un empattement différent à droite et à gauche (7 cm s’agissant de Renault 16). Pourquoi changer la recette du succès ?

R16_7

caractéristiques techniques

1 851 502 UNITÉS

PRODUITES

  • production

    1 851 502 unités de 1965 à 1980

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en aluminium coulé

    de 1 470 cm3 à 1 647 cm3

    de 55 à 93 ch selon les versions

    de 142 à 175 km/h selon les versions

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,24 m
    largeur 1,65 m
    hauteur 1,45 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie bi-corps avec hayon.

    traction

    moteur avant central, avec boîte de vitesses positionnée devant (comme sur le Renault 4).

The Originals Store

SWEET 16

Un cadeau à faire pour un fan des années 70 ? Pensez aux produits Renault 16 ! Si elle a pu damer le pion à une Rolls-Royce, elle vaut sans aucun doute le détour.

explorer
The Originals