the family-sized lightweight

Juvaquatre

juvaquatre
1939
scroll

A

NEW

ERA

First unveiled in 1937, Renault Juvaquatre’s career was split in two by the Second World War. History thus saw Juvaquatre form the link between the Louis Renault era and the new Régie Nationale des Usines Renault (the name given to the post-war nationalised company). Renault Juvaquatre was indeed the last model launched by Louis Renault, but its sales continued after 1945.

1939
juvaquatre_01
juvaquatre_02
juvaquatre_03

spirit

AS LIGHT AS

THEY COME

juvaquatre_04

interior

AWESOME

BODYWORK

In October 1937, Renault unveiled a new 6 CV at the Paris motor show, Renault Juvaquatre. Positioned as a small family car, this model buoyed up the Renault Celtaquatre. Renault Juvaquatre was an innovative car as the first Renault to use an all-steel monocoque body and separately driven front wheels. This ensured a lighter weight (to reduce fuel consumption, as proclaimed by the advertisers), greater rigidity (better safety) and improved comfort.

juvaquatre_05

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

Juvaquatre’s sound is that of loading.

archives

THE TRADESMAN’S

FAVOURITE

The Second World War brought an end to production of Renault Juvaquatre. After the war, Renault 4 CV arrived on the scene and Renault Juvaquatre was mainly sold as a van. This was the start of its second (utility) career, and it was popular among tradesmen and shopkeepers. In 1956, it was renamed Renault Dauphinoise (because it shared its mechanics with Renault Dauphine). 1960 marked the end of Renault Juvaquatre and the arrival of Renault 4.

play
juvaquatre_06

Technical features

ALL-STEEL

MONOCOQUE

BODY

  • production

    252,000 units from 1938 to 1960

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders inline, 1,003 cm3, 24 hp

    3-speed gearbox + reverse

    100 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,72 m
    Width 1,40 m
    Height 1,55 m
  • architecture

    all-steel monocoque body, front engine, rear-wheel drive

    4-door saloon/coach/coupé/small van/estate

The Originals Store

Right this way

Take the shortest route and get one of these Renault Juvaquatre-inspired items.

explore
The Originals

familiale light

Juvaquatre

juvaquatre
1939
scroll

UNE

NOUVELLE

ÈRE

Présentée en 1937, Renault Juvaquatre connaîtra une carrière en deux temps, coupée par la Seconde Guerre mondiale. L’Histoire fera donc de Renault Juvaquatre un trait d’union entre l’ère de Louis Renault et la nouvelle Régie Nationale des Usines Renault (nom de la marque après-guerre). En effet, Renault Juvaquatre a été le dernier modèle lancé par Louis Renault, mais a continué à être commercialisée après 1945.

1939
juvaquatre_01
juvaquatre_02
juvaquatre_03

esprit

EN TOUTE

LÉGÈRETÉ

juvaquatre_04

intérieur

SACRÉMENT

CARROSSÉE

En octobre 1937, Renault présente une nouvelle 6CV au Salon de Paris, Renault Juvaquatre. Ce modèle vient épauler Renault Celtaquatre, en proposant une petite familiale. En termes d’innovation, Renault Juvaquatre sera la 1ère Renault à adopter une carrosserie monocoque tout acier et des roues avant indépendantes. Cela permet un allègement (pour réduire la consommation, argument repris par les publicitaires), plus de rigidité (pour la sécurité) et plus de confort.

juvaquatre_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Juvaquatre c’est le son du changement.

archives

MISS

ARTISANS

La Seconde Guerre Mondiale va stopper l’élan de Renault Juvaquatre. Après-guerre, Renault 4CV prend le devant de la scène et Renault Juvaquatre est surtout vendue comme fourgonnette. C’est le début d’une seconde carrière (utilitaire) pour Renault Juvaquatre qui sera très appréciée des artisans et commerçants. En 1956, elle prendra un nouveau nom : Renault Dauphinoise (car elle est dotée de la mécanique de Renault Dauphine). L’année 1960 marquera la fin de Renault Juvaquatre et l’arrivée de Renault 4.

jouer
juvaquatre_06

caractéristiques techniques

CARROSSERIE

MONOCOQUE

TOUT ACIER

  • production

    252 000 exemplaires de 1938 à 1960

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en ligne

    1.003 cm3

    24 ch

    boite de vitesses à 3 rapports + AR

    100 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,72 m
    largeur 1,40 m
    hauteur 1,55 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie monocoque tout acier

    moteur avant, propulsion

    carrosseries berline 4 portes/coach/coupé/fourgonnette/break

The Originals Store

C'est par ici

N'y allez pas par 4 chemins et optez pour un des modèles réduits de Juvaquatre.

explorer
The Originals