Grand tourer

Type CH

Renault Type CH
1910
scroll

SPORTY TO

THE CORE

Launched in 1910, Renault Type CH delivered everything a sports car fan could have asked for: a short, straight chassis, and open car body, a large engine (4 cylinder, 5 litres, and 20-horsepower). Despite all these features, Renault Type CH was a light-weight version of Type CE, with sporty DNA to boot.

1910
Twinner_typeCH_001
Twinner_typeCH_002
Twinner_typeCH_003

spirit

INNOVATION BY

RENAULT

A Grand Tourer ahead of its time, Renault Type CH stood out mostly for its sporty innovations. It was fitted with a heated carburettor and 4-speed gearbox (with a direct-drive 4th gear for which Louis Renault himself filed the patent). Along with enhanced engine cooling and lubrication systems, Renault Type CH featured a handbrake, on drums attached to rear wheel hubs, and a foot brake, on a drive shaft drum after a gear change.

Twinner_typeCH_004

interior

SPORTY ENGINE

In the the early 20th century, Renault, along with its more popular ranges, was developing ever-sportier engines. The brand began with a 2-cylinder, then cars like Renault Type CH were being fitted with a mid-sized 4-cylinder, which was becoming the norm in sports cars, until the arrival of the 6-cylinder, marking the beginning of truly prestigious automobiles.

Twinner_typeCH_005
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Rediscover the soundscape of the 20th century, with the sounds of Renault Type CH.

archives

AGAINST ALL

ODDS

From 22 January to 3 February 1910, the Boulogne-Billancourt were submerged under the Seine River. At the worst of the flood, waters reached 2.20 metres, and the press wrote, “The factory is used to overcoming adversity. We can safely predict that the powerful Billancourt establishments will be working day and night to resume production.” They were right: it was back to business as usual after 2 months of hard work. Not even the weather could hold back technical progress, and Type CH was designed and launched that same year.

Archives_TypeCH_001

technical features

5,026 cc

  • Performance and engine

    Max. speed: 70 km/h

    4 cylinders

    5,026 cc

  • dimensions
    Length 4.60 m
    Width 1.55 m
    Height 1.52 m
  • architecture

    Open car body

The Originals Store

NOSTALGIA

Go back in time to the Renault Type CH era, with The Originals Renault collector’s items.

explore
The Originals

grand tourisme

Type CH

Renault Type CH
1910
scroll

ÂME SPORTIVE

Commercialisée à partir de 1910, Renault Type CH a tout pour plaire aux amateurs de sports auto : un châssis court et étroit, une carrosserie ouverte, un gros moteur (4 cylindres, 5 litres de cylindrée et 20 CV) et malgré tout un poids limité : Renault Type CH est une version légère de Type CE, avec l’ADN sportif en plus.

1910
Twinner_typeCH_001
Twinner_typeCH_002
Twinner_typeCH_003

esprit

L’INNOVATION BY

RENAULT

Si Renault Type CH se démarque c’est principalement par ses innovations, tournées vers la sportivité, ce qui en fait une sorte de voiture de Grand Tourisme avant l’heure. Ainsi, Renault Type CH est dotée d’un carburateur à réchauffeur et d’une boîte de vitesses à 4 rapports (le 4ème en prise directe, selon un brevet déposé par Louis Renault himself). Lubrification et refroidissement du moteur sont améliorés, et Renault Type CH bénéficie d’un frein à main, sur des tambours solidaires des moyeux de roues arrière et d’un frein à pied, sur un tambour fixé sur l'arbre de transmission à la sortie du changement de vitesse.

Twinner_typeCH_004

intérieur

MOTEUR SPORT

En parallèle de ses gammes plus populaires, Renault développe au début du XXème siècle des moteurs de plus en plus sportifs. La marque commence avec un moteur bicylindre, puis avec des voitures comme Renault Type CH, des 4 cylindres avec une cylindrée moyenne, qui commencent à entrer dans le cercle des voitures sportives, jusqu’à l’arrivée ensuite des moteurs 6 cylindres, qui seront, cette fois, de réelles voitures de prestige.

Twinner_typeCH_005
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Revivez l’ambiance sonore du début du XXème siècle, avec les sons de Renault Type CH.

archives

CONTRE VENTS

ET MARÉES

Du 22 janvier au 3 février 1910, les usines de Boulogne-Billancourt sont submergées par les eaux de la Seine. Au plus fort de la crue, alors que la hauteur des eaux atteint 2,20 mètres, la presse écrit : « L’usine est coutumière des tours de force. Il est aisé de prévoir que les puissants établissements de Billancourt travailleront jour et nuit pour rétablir la production ». Ce fut fait après 2 mois de travail acharné. Les épreuves climatologiques ne pouvaient freiner les progrès techniques et la Type CH pu être conçue et lancée dès la même année.

Archives_TypeCH_001

caractéristiques techniques

5026 CM3

  • performances et motorisation

    Vitesse maxi : 70 km/h

    4 cylindres

    5026 cm3

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,60 m
    largeur 1,55 m
    hauteur 1,52 m
  • architecture

    Carrosserie ouverte

The Originals Store

RETOUR DANS

LE PASSÉ

Repartez à l’époque de Renault Type CH avec les produits collector de Renault The Originals.

explorer
The Originals