born to win

Alpine A 442 B

Alpine_A442
1978
scroll

LE

MANS

78

A successor of the Alpine A440 and A441, Alpine A442 entered the Prototypes World Championship in 1975, where it won a number of pole positions. It was known above all for clinching victory at the 24 Heures du Mans on 10 and 11 June, 1978, in its A442B version.

1978
alpinea442b_01
alpinea442b_02
alpinea442b_03

spirit

THE ROAD

TO VICTORY

In 1973, Alpine decided to return to high-level circuit competitions. The brand launched A440, a blue spitfire that tore up the tracks in 1973. The following year, the model evolved to the A441, equipped with a turbo engine and a yellow and black body (Renault colours). Alpine raced two consecutive years at the 24 Heures du Mans with Renault Alpine A442, then developing Renault Alpine A442 B, specially designed for the flagship race of the world endurance championship. At the checkered flag, a historic victory.

alpinea442b_04

interior

DRIVERS, START

YOUR ENGINES!

Renault Alpine A 442 B was equipped with a turbocharged 6-cylinder engine inline 90°, 1996 cc achieving 500 hp. With this engine it could approach 360 kph. And despite almost 200 cc less than Renault Alpine A443, it was the more aerodynamic A442 B version that pulled off the 1978 victory.

alpinea442b_05
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

The sounds of Renault Alpine A442 B are reminiscent of the race track, Le Mans and competitive racing.

technical features

500 HP

ENGINE

  • production

    single model

  • Performance and engine

    Turbocharged 6 cylinders inline at 90°

    1996 cc, 500 hp

    around 360 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 4,80 m
    Width 1,84 m
    Height 2 ,35 m
  • architecture

    two-seater barquette group 6

    rear-wheel drive

    tubular chassis

The Originals Store

COMPETITIVE

SPIRIT

To get in touch with your competitive spirit, come and discover Renault Alpine A442 B products.

heritage

A FITTING END

The very evening of the 1978 Le Mans race and the magnificent victory of Pironi and Jassaud, Bernard Hanon, head of Renault, announced the end of the endurance programme, making way for Formula 1. A new chapter began, and what a chapter!

alpinea442b_14
explore
The Originals

née pour gagner

Alpine A 442 B

Alpine_A442
1978
scroll

LE

MANS

78

Descendante des Alpine A440 et A441, Alpine A442 est engagée dans le Championnat du Mondes des Prototypes en 1975, où elle remportera de nombres pôles positions. Elle sera surtout connue pour avoir décroché la victoire aux 24 Heures du Mans les 10 et 11 juin 1978 dans sa version A 442 B.

1978
alpinea442b_01
alpinea442b_02
alpinea442b_03

esprit

L’ÉVOLUTION

VERS

LA VICTOIRE

En 1973, Alpine décide de revenir en compétition circuit à haut niveau. La marque lance A440, un bolide bleu qui usait les pistes en 1973. L’année suivante, le modèle évolue en A441, dotée d’un moteur turbo et d’une robe jaune et noire (les couleurs de Renault). Alpine courra deux années de suite aux 24 Heures du Mans avec Renault Alpine A442, pour ensuite développer Renault Alpine A442 B, spécifiquement conçue pour l’épreuve reine du championnat du monde d’endurance. Au drapeau à damier, une victoire historique.

alpinea442b_04

intérieur

MOTEUR,

ACTION !

Renault Alpine A 442 B était dotée d’un moteur turbocompressé à 6 cylindres en V à 90°, de 1 996 cm3 développant 500 ch. Grâce à ce moteur, elle pouvait frôler les 360 km/h. Et malgré presque 200 cm3 de moins que Renault Alpine A443, c’est la version A442 B plus aérodynamique qui décrocha la victoire en 1978.

alpinea442b_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Les sons de Renault Alpine A442 B évoquent la piste, Le Mans et la compétition.

caractéristiques techniques

MOTEUR

DE 500 CH

  • production

    modèle unique

  • performances et motorisation

    6 cylindres en V à 90°, turbocompressé

    1 996 cm3, 500 ch

    environ 360 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,80 m
    largeur 1,84 m
    hauteur 2 ,35 m
  • architecture

    barquette bi-place groupe 6 transmission aux roues arrière châssis tubulaire

The Originals Store

ESPRIT

COMPÉTITION

Pour renouer avec votre esprit de compétition, venez découvrir les produits Renault Alpine A442 B.

héritage

FINIR EN

BEAUTÉ

Le soir même de la course du Mans de 1978 et de la superbe victoire de Pironi et Jassaud, Bernard Hanon, le patron de Renault, annonce la fin du programme endurance, au profit de la Formule 1. Une page se tourne, mais quelle page !

alpinea442b_14
explorer
The Originals