the great and glorious

4CV

4CV
1949
scroll

CLANDESTINO

In the midst of the Second World War, Renault was secretly working on the development of a small car. Secretly but efficiently as, despite the wartime conditions, Renault's designers laid the foundations for Renault 4CV, which was launched in October 1946 once France had embarked upon its reconstruction.

1949
4CV_1
4CV_2
4CV_3

spirit

FLEXIBLE IS

THE WORD

“4 doors, 4 seats, 4 CV, 440,000 francs!” With this memorable slogan, Renault affirmed its ambitions to make the Renault 4CV a compact, comfortable and economical car. Renault 4CV was able to carry four people comfortably, its flat floor kept clear by the rear positioning of the engine.

4CV_4
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

After the Second World War and the Liberation, it would have been wonderful to have had a multi-tone horn on the Renault 4 CV tuned to play the Marseillaise! Never mind – it’s horn still definitely sounds like the 1940s.

archives

A MILLION!

As a symbol of the return to peacetime prosperity, Renault 4 CV became the first French car to be produced in excess of 1 million units (with over 1,105,000 sold), largely due to the use of transfer machines, heralding an era of automation.

4CV_5

technical features

RACK-AND-PINION

STEERING

  • production

    1,105,547 units from 1947 to 1961

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders inline

    from 747 cm3 to 760 cm3 depending on version

    from 17 to 21 hp depending on version

    3-speed gearbox

    90 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,60 m
    Width 1,43 m
    Height 1,45 m
  • architecture

    small two-box car

    rear engine

    rear-wheel drive

    monocoque body

The Originals Store

PURE

VINTAGE

The sheer style of the Technicolour years.

heritage

FROM 4CV

TO 4L

Renault 4 CV was the best-selling car in France until 1955, and embodied a return to peace and prosperity. In 1961, however, it bowed out, making way for another big Renault success, the R4, which went down in history under the name 4L.

4CV_12
explore
The Originals

la grande glorieuse

4CV

4CV
1949
scroll

CLANDES-

TINO

En pleine Seconde Guerre Mondiale, Renault travaille clandestinement au développement d’une petite auto. Clandestins mais efficaces, les concepteurs de Renault auront ainsi dessiné pendant la guerre les prémices de Renault 4 CV, qui pourra donc être lancée dès octobre 1946, dans une France en pleine reconstruction.

1949
4CV_1
4CV_2
4CV_3

esprit

ELLE SE

PLIE EN 4

“4 portes, 4 places, 4 CV, 440 000 francs !” : Avec ce slogan facile à retenir, Renault affiche son ambition pour sa Renault 4CV : proposer une voiture compacte, habitable et économique. Renault 4CV peut notamment transporter confortablement quatre personnes, grâce à son plancher plat dégagé par la position à l’arrière du moteur.

4CV_4
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Après la Seconde Guerre Mondiale et la Libération, on aurait adoré que le klaxon de Renault 4CV soit un multi-ton accordé pour faire résonner la Marseillaise. A défaut, on a tout de même un klaxon qui fleure bon les années 40.

archives

LE MILLION !

Symbole du retour à la prospérité en temps de paix, Renault 4 CV deviendra la première voiture française produite à plus d’un million d’exemplaires (et plus de 1 105 000 unités vendues) grâce aux machines-transferts qui ouvrent l’ère de l’automatisation.

4CV_5

caractéristiques techniques

DIRECTION À

CRÉMAILLÈRE

  • production

    1 105 547 exemplaires de 1947 à 1961

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en ligne

    de 747 cm3 à 760 cm3 selon les versions

    de 17 ch à 21 ch selon les versions

    boîte 3 vitesses

    90 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,60 m
    largeur 1,43 m
    hauteur 1,45 m
  • architecture

    petite voiture bi-corps

    moteur placé en porte-à-faux à l’arrière

    transmission aux roues arrière

    châssis monocoque

The Originals Store

SO

VINTAGE

L’élégance des grandes années Technicolor dans ce modèle réduit

héritage

De 4CV

À 4L

Renault 4 CV sera la voiture la plus vendue en France jusqu’en 1955, car elle incarne le retour de la paix et de la prospérité. En 1961, elle devra néanmoins s’effacer, pour laisser la place à un autre succès retentissant de Renault, R4, qui entrera dans l’histoire sous le surnom de “4L”.

4CV_12
explorer
The Originals