the crossfit family

R8 Gordini

R8_Gordini
1970
scroll

SPORTS

ICON

FOR ALL

Renault 8 Gordini signalled the dawn of a new sports driving age (or almost). By offering a sporty version - under the name Gordini - of a large series model, Renault could offer affordable sports cars: it was the birth of the GTI before the name even existed.

1970
r8gordini_01
r8gordini_02
r8_gordini_003

spirit

A DEBT

TO AMÉDÉE

Launched in 1964, Renault 8 Gordini owed its name to its engineer, Amédée Gordini. It adopted re-designed drive trains, improved braking and a 95 hp engine (almost twice the power of the classic Renault 8 engine). In 1966, the “Gorde”, as it was nicknamed, further improved by its engine (now 1300 cc), was equipped with a 5-gear gearbox for a maximum speed of 175 kph. This performance cemented its reputation in competitions.

r8gordini_04

interior

WELL

PREPARED

Renault managed to push the Renault Gordini engine to 95 hp, by adopting a new hemispherical cylinder head and two Weber carburettors. Once this engine had been further improved, the Renault 8 Gordini appealed to a great many drivers, amateurs as well as professionals.

r8gordini_05
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

Like a great rock classic, the engine sounds of Renault 8 Gordini are not to be missed, filling our ears with wonderful memories.

style

A LIVING

LEGEND

What other car is more easily identifiable than Renault 8 Gordini? Its two legendary white stripes on blue background make the car stand out in a crowd.

technical features

UP TO

175 KPH

  • production

    over 11,800 vehicles from 1964 to 1970 out of 1.3 million vehicles

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders from 1108 cc to 1255 cc

    from 95 to 110 hp

    4-speed gearbox (for the 1108 cc) or 5-speed (for the 1255 cc)

    170-175 kph depending on version

  • dimensions
    Length 4,00 m
    Width 1,49 m
    Height 1 ,37 m
  • architecture

    three-box body

    transverse engine to the rear

The Originals Store

“GORDE”

STYLE

Match your outfits to the Renault 8 Gordini colours or opt for a miniature to replay rally victories in your head.

heritage

BREEDER

OF

CHAMPIONS

Renault 8 Gordini can be proud of having a competition dedicated to it. In 1966, the publication ‘Moteurs, Renault et Dunlop’ created the Renault 8 Gordini National Cup. Aspiring drivers and owners of the little blue spitfire faced off in this competition, which revealed several drivers who went on to great things: Andruet, Cudini, Darniche, Jabouille, Jarier, Leclère, Malcher, Ragnotti and Thérier.

R8gordini_13
R8gordini_14
explore
The Originals

la familiale crossfitée

R8 Gordini

R8_Gordini
1970
scroll

ICÔNE

DU SPORT

POUR TOUS

Renault 8 Gordini ouvre l’ère de la conduite sportive pour tous (ou presque). En proposant – sous l’appellation Gordini – un dérivé sportif d’un modèle de grande série, Renault peut offrir des sportives abordables : c’est la naissance du GTI avant même que ce nom n’existe.

1970
r8gordini_01
r8gordini_02
r8_gordini_003

esprit

LA PATTE

D’AMÉDÉE

Lancée en 1964, Renault 8 Gordini doit son nom à son préparateur, Amédée Gordini. Elle adopte des trains roulants revus, un meilleur freinage et un moteur de 95 ch (presque deux fois la puissance du moteur de Renault 8 classique). En 1966, la « Gorde », comme elle est surnommée, améliore encore son moteur (désormais de 1 300 cm3) et se dote d’une boîte de vitesses à 5 rapports, qui lui permettent d’atteindre les 175 km/h. Ces performances feront sa réputation en compétition.

r8gordini_04

intérieur

BIEN

PRÉPARÉE

Si Renault a pu porter à 95 ch la puissance du moteur de Renault Gordini, c’est grâce à l’adoption d’une nouvelle culasse hémisphérique et de deux carburateurs Weber. Une fois ce moteur encore amélioré, la Renault 8 Gordini séduisait de nombreux pilotes en herbe comme professionnels.

r8gordini_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Tel un grand classique du rock, les sons moteur de Renault 8 Gordini sont incontournables, et emplissent nos oreilles de bons souvenirs.

style

LIVRÉE DE

LÉGENDE

Quelle autre voiture est plus facilement identifiable que Renault 8 Gordini ? Ses deux légendaires bandes blanches sur fond bleu rendent la voiture reconnaissable entre mille.

caractéristiques techniques

JUSQU’À

175 KM/H

  • production

    plus de 11.800 exemplaires de 1964 à 1970

    sur 1,3 millions d’exemplaires

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres de 1 108 cm3 à 1 255 cm3

    de 95 à 110 ch

    boite de vitesses à 4 (pour la 1108 cm3 ou 5 vitesses (pour la 1255 cm3)

    de 170 à 175 km/h (selon versions)

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,00 m
    largeur 1,49 m
    hauteur 1 ,37 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie tri-corps moteur transversal positionné à l’arrière

The Originals Store

STYLE

« GORDE »

Assortissez vos vêtements aux couleurs de Renault 8 Gordini ou optez pour une miniature pour rejouer dans votre tête des victoires en rallye.

héritage

ÉLEVEUSE

DE

CHAMPIONS

Renault 8 Gordini peut se vanter d’avoir une compétition qui lui est dédiée. Dès 1966, le magazine Moteurs, Renault et Dunlop créent la Coupe Nationale Renault 8 Gordini. Des pilotes en herbe et propriétaires de la petite bombe bleue s’affrontent dans cette compétition qui révèlera plusieurs pilotes qui feront ensuite leurs preuves : Andruet, Cudini, Darniche, Jabouille, Jarier, Leclère, Malcher, Ragnotti ou Thérier.

R8gordini_13
R8gordini_14
explorer
The Originals