between 4 an 16

R6

Renault R6
1968
scroll

LITTLE

SISTER

OF R16

The sales network dubbed Renault 6 as “little Renault 16” due to its resemblance to the ground-breaking 5-door saloon. In actuality, it is closely related to Renault 4. Just as practical but a touch more elegant, Renault 6 took on its predecessor’s mechanical elements (torsion bar suspension and gearbox positioned in front of the engine) but added sophisticated details like the wider windscreen and more comprehensive equipment, particularly with regard to the upholstery.

1968
twinner_r6_001
twinner_r6_002
twinner_r6_003

mindset

STIFF

COMPETITION

Presented at the 1968 Paris Motor Show, Renault 6 became the brand’s response to the Volkswagen Beetle and Citroën Ami 6. Renault 6 carried over one of the key successes of Renault 4 and Renault 16: the hatchback! It also featured an asymmetrical wheelbase. Interestingly, to accommodate the suspension design, the wheelbase is slightly longer on one side.

interior

BORROWED

ENGINE

Borrowing from Renault 4’s technical design, Renault 6 also shares its 34 hp 845 cc 4-cylinder engine with Renault 4 Super and Renault Dauphine. Renault 6 would later be sold in different versions, including Renault 6 L and TL. The TL version was launch in 1970, this time equipped with a 47 hp 1,108 cc engine.

Click on the car to start exploring
360°

soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Immerse yourself in the flower power era by listening to the sounds of Renault 6.

archives

HEIR OF

SUCCESS

Renault 6 was considered both as a bigger, more luxurious Renault 4 and as a small Renault 16. With more than 1.7 million units, Renault 6 nearly matched the success of Renault 16, which produced more than 1.85 million units. Both impressive figures!

Technical features

1.7 MILLION

UNITS MANUFACTURED

  • production

    around 1,700,000 units

  • Performance and engine

    max. speed: 120 km/h to 135 km/h

    4 cylinders

    845 cc to 1108 cc

    34 hp to 47 hp

  • dimensions
    Length 3,85 m
    Width 1,54 m
    Height 1,5 m
  • architecture

    two-box saloon with liftgate

    monocoque bodywork

    technical base of Renault 4

The Originals Store

SOUVENIRS OF

THE 1970s

Discover products at The Originals Renault Store to celebrate the essence of Renault 6.

explore
The Originals

entre 4 et 16

R6

Renault R6
1968
scroll

PETITE

SŒUR

DE R16

Grâce à sa ligne évoquant l’innovante berline 5 portes, Renault 6 sera surnommée « la petite Renault 16 » par le réseau commercial. Mais elle reste avant tout très proche de Renault 4, avec un parti pris plus élégant mais toujours fonctionnel. Elle lui emprunte des éléments mécaniques (suspension par barres de torsion et boîte de vitesses devant le moteur) mais ajoute des raffinements comme le pare-brise plus large et un équipement plus complet que sur Renault 4, notamment au niveau de la sellerie.

1968
twinner_r6_001
twinner_r6_002
twinner_r6_003

esprit

SACRÉE

CONCURRENCE

Arme de Renault pour compléter sa gamme et s’attaquer aux Volkswagen Coccinelle et Citroën Ami 6, Renault 6 est présentée au Salon de l’automobile de Paris de 1968. Renault 6 reprend un des éléments-clés qui a fait le succès de Renault 4 et de Renault 16 : le hayon ! Elle possède également un empattement asymétrique. En effet, étonnamment, pour simplifier le schéma de suspension, l’empattement est légèrement plus long d’un côté que de l’autre.

intérieur

MOTEUR

D’EMPRUNT

Basée sur la base technique de Renault 4, Renault 6 partage également son moteur de 4 cylindres, 845 cm3 et 34 ch avec les Renault 4 Super et Renault Dauphine. Renault 6 sera commercialisée plus tard en différentes versions, dont Renault 6 L et TL. La version TL sera lancée en 1970, équipée cette fois d’un moteur de 1 108 cm3 et 47 ch.

Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Replongez-vous dans l’époque du flower power en écoutant les sons de Renault 6.

archives

HÉRITIÈRE

À SUCCÈS

Renault 6 était à la fois considérée comme une grosse Renault 4 en plus cossue, et comme une petite Renault 16. D’ailleurs, avec plus d’1,7 million d’exemplaires, Renault 6 égale presque le succès de la Renault 16 qui s’est écoulée à plus de 1,85 million d’unités. Deux beaux chiffres de production !

Caractéristiques techniques

1,7 MILLION

D’EXEMPLAIRES PRODUITS

  • production

    1 700 000 exemplaires environ

  • performances et motorisation

    vitesse maxi : 120 km/h à 135 km/h

    4 cylindres

    de 845 cm3 à 1108 cm3

    de 34 ch à 47 ch

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,85 m
    largeur 1,54 m
    hauteur 1,5 m
  • architecture

    berline bicorps à hayon

    caisse monocoque

    base technique de la Renault 4

The Originals Store

SOUVENIRS 70s

Découvrez les produits The Originals Renault Store pour célébrer l’esprit Renault 6.

explorer
The Originals