supercar, superhero!

R5 TL

R5TL
1974
scroll

ON 5

CONTINENTS

In 1972, Renault launched Renault 5 to appeal to an non-conformist customer segment. It was in tune with the changing times, as families acquired a second car and young people and women started to own more cars. Renault 5 undeniably marked its time: a total 5.5 million units were produced up until 1985 and the car was sold on five continents. The 1973 oil crisis proved to be an opportunity for Renault 5, which enjoyed a successful career thanks to its particularly economic engines.

1974
R5TL_01
R5TL_01
R5TL_03

spirit

A CAR FOR

EVERYONE

While Renault 4 was a car for all (a concept suitable for every kind of use), Renault 5 was a car for each individual. The model came in a multitude of versions so every customer could find a Renault 5 to suit them. From the basic L version to the more luxury TX, and including the Alpine and Turbo sports versions, Renault 5 had something to please everyone.

R5TL_04

interior

THE NEIGHBOURHOOD

SUPERSTAR

A pleasure to drive, compact but also surprisingly spacious, Renault 5 was a huge ally for city-dwellers and suburbanites. Its boot was actually designed to contain the contents of a supermarket trolley!

R5TL_05
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

The hits of the Seventies have gained cult status and likewise, Renault 5 is a true testimony to the era.

archives

7 YEARS IN

THE STATES

Renault 5 went on sale in the USA in 1976 under the name “Le Car”. Renault R5 was economical in the context of the 1973 oil crisis, making up for its small size in the eyes of Americans, who were generally into bigger cars. Instantly recognisable by its front end and bumpers with thick rubber impact strips, the car adapted to the American market with its milometer and seatbelt reminder. Over seven years, 123,325 Renault R5s were sold in the USA.

R5TL_06

Technical features

ASSEMBLED IN

28 COUNTRIES

  • production

    5,580,626 units from 1972 to 1985

    assembled in 28 countries

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders inline, naturally aspirated petrol or turbo petrol

    from 782 cm3 to 1,430 cm3

    delivering 34-160 hp, depending on version

    130-185 kph depending on version

  • dimensions
    Length 3,50 m / 5 Turbo : 3,66 m
    Width 1.52 m/5 Turbo: 1.75 m
    Height 1.40 m/5 Turbo: 1.32 m
  • architecture

    front-wheel drive, two-box body with tailgate.

The Originals Store

MAKE A NAME

FOR YOURSELF

Among the diamond brand’s different models, Renault 5 has gained cult status. Take a look at its anniversary collection here.

heritage

ALREADY THINKING

OF THE FUTURE...

Renault 5 came in some iconic versions (such as R5 GT Turbo). It was also available with a Baccara finish, Renault’s luxury range. In 1984, Renault R5 gave rise to a new version named the Renault Supercinq. Then in 1990, Renault Clio took over and has now reached its fifth generation. A Renault R5 E-Tech Electric Prototype was unveiled in 2021.

R5TL_11
explore
The Originals

super car, super héroine !

R5 TL

R5TL
1974
scroll

SUR LES 5

CONTINENTS

En 1972, Renault veut séduire une clientèle anticonformiste et développe donc Renault 5. Elle répond aux changements de l’époque : l’émergence de la seconde voiture et l’accession des jeunes et des femmes à l’automobile. Produite jusqu’en 1985 à plus de 5,5 millions d'unités, vendue sur 5 continents, Renault 5 a véritablement marqué son époque. La crise pétrolière de 1973 sera en outre un tremplin pour la carrière de Renault 5, qui se démarquera grâce à ses moteurs particulièrement frugaux.

1974
R5TL_01
R5TL_01
R5TL_03

esprit

VOITURE POUR

CHACUN

Quand Renault 4 était la voiture pour tous (un concept répondant à tous les usages), Renault 5 est la voiture pour chacun. Le modèle est ainsi proposé en une multitude de versions permettant à chaque client de trouver sa Renault 5. De la version basique L jusqu’à la plus luxueuse TX en passant par les sportives versions Alpine et Turbo, Renault 5 peut faire le bonheur de tout un chacun.

R5TL_04

intérieur

STAR DES

QUARTIERS

Agréable à conduire, compacte et malgré tout remarquablement spacieuse, Renault 5 est la meilleure amie des citadins et des banlieusards. Preuve de son habitabilité : son coffre a été calculé pour charger le contenu d’un caddy de supermarché.

R5TL_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Aussi culte que les tubes des années 70, les sons de Renault 5 sont le reflet d’une époque.

archives

7 ANS

AUX US

Renault 5 est proposée aux USA dès 1976 sous le nom “Le Car”. Renault 5 est sobre en réponse à la crise pétrolière de 1973, ce qui compense sa petite taille alors que les Américains sont plutôt fans de gros gabarits. Reconnaissable par sa face avant et ses pare-chocs avec bourrelets en caoutchouc et adaptée au marché US avec son compteur en miles et son témoin de non-bouclage de ceinture, Renault 5 se vendra à 123 325 unités en 7 ans aux États-Unis.

R5TL_06

caractéristiques techniques

ASSEMBLÉE

DANS 28 PAYS

  • production

    5 580 626 exemplaires de 1972 à 1985

    assemblée dans 28 pays

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en ligne, essence atmosphérique ou essence turbo

    de 782 cm3 à 1 430 cm3 développant de 34 à 160 ch selon les versions

    de 130 à 185 km/h selon les versions

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,50 m / 5 Turbo : 3,66 m
    largeur 1,52 m / 5 Turbo : 1,75 m
    hauteur 1 ,40 m / 5 Turbo : 1,32 m
  • architecture

    traction à carrosserie bi-corps avec hayon.

The Originals Store

ENTREZ DANS

LA LÉGENDE

Renault 5 est l'un des véhicules cultes de la marque au losange. Alors n’hésitez pas à découvrir sa collection anniversaire.

héritage

ON PENSE DÉJÀ

À LA SUITE

Renault 5 sera disponible dans des versions légendaires (notamment R5 GT Turbo). Elle sera également proposée en finition Baccara, la griffe de luxe de Renault. En outre, Renault R5 connaîtra une descendante dès 1984 surnommée Renault Supercinq. Puis en 1990, Renault Clio reprendra le flambeau et en est aujourd’hui à sa cinquième génération. En outre, Renault R5 E-Tech Electric Prototype a été dévoilée en 2021.

R5TL_11
explorer
The Originals