recreation time!

Kangoo

Kangoo
2001
scroll

FAB

FOR THE

FAMILY

Launched in 1997, Renault Kangoo, originally designed as a van, won over an array of private customers looking for a vehicle to suit their family and leisure pursuits. Renault had set out to design a compact, spacious vehicle that didn’t look like a utilitarian. In its passenger version, Renault Kangoo came with a liftgate and became part of a brand new trend on the automotive market, the “ludospace” or leisure activity vehicle (LAV).

2001
kangoo_01
kangoo_02
kangoo_03

spirit

THE DOOR THAT

MADE THE DIFFERENCE

Renault Kangoo quickly became a benchmark, offering a sliding rear side door to put it one step ahead of its French rivals, who lacked this feature on their launch. However, the other brands took note and eventually added one to their cars. That’s what you call pioneering!

kangoo_04

interior

GET LOADING!

While Renault Kangoo replaced a commercial vehicle (Renault Express), its loading volume was greater than that of its predecessor (a plus point for a family vehicle!). The additional volume came from its two-box bodywork with a roof line running uninterrupted from front to rear, and the rear swing doors on the commercial version (while the LAV had a tailgate). The sliding side doors also made all the difference!

kangoo_05

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

The 1990s were the golden age for summer hits. Renault Kangoo echoes the trend – what better way to combine family and leisure with a holiday at the wheel of this LAV, with the Macarena on the stereo?

Technical features

ELECTRIC,

HYBRID,

LPG AND NGV

  • production

    from 1997 to 2007 in Maubeuge, France

    from 1999 to 2018 in Argentina 2,300,000 units

  • Performance and engine

    transverse engine, petrol and diesel

    from 999 cm3 to 1,870 cm3

    55-95 hp depending on version electric, hybrid, LPG and NGV versions

    135-170 kph depending on version

  • dimensions
    Length 4,04 m
    Width 2,03 m
    Height 1,86 m
  • architecture

    two-box body with uninterrupted roofline

    from front to back front-wheel drive + 4x4 version available

    swing doors to the rear for the small van version,

    tailgate on the leisure activity vehicle.

The Originals Store

RENAULT PASSION NOW

HAS ITS OWN STORE!

A Renault fan or just a classic car enthusiast? There’s something here for you!

heritage

Alongside its commercial versions (Renault Kangoo Express), Renault Kangoo was also available as an electric vehicle (Renault Kangoo Z.E.) used by various municipal services and authorities (like the French postal service) and company fleets. In 2008, the new Renault Kangoo Be-Bop stood out with its 3-door configuration, two-tone bodywork, sliding sunroof to the rear and rear tailgate window that slid down into the door. In Japan, Renault Kangoo gained cult status and features at big meets known as the “Kangoo Jamboree” near Mount Fuji.

kangoo_10
explore
The Originals

place aux loisirs

Kangoo

Kangoo
2001
scroll

NOTRE

BELLE

FAMILLE

Lancé en 1997, Renault Kangoo, pourtant initialement conçu comme utilitaire, a fini par plaire surtout aux particuliers, pour qui le cœur balance entre famille et loisirs. Renault a donc pour objectif de proposer un véhicule à la fois compact et volumique, sans lui donner un look d’utilitaire. Dans sa version dédiée aux particuliers, Renault Kangoo, alors doté d’un hayon, fera partie d’une toute nouvelle mouvance sur le marché de l’automobile : les “ludospaces”.

2001
kangoo_01
kangoo_02
kangoo_03

esprit

UNE PORTE

D’AVANCE

Renault Kangoo devient rapidement un exemple, en proposant toujours une porte arrière latérale coulissante d’avance par rapport à ses concurrents français. Renault Kangoo en a une lorsque la concurrence en est dépourvue, puis deux lorsque les autres marques finissent par en proposer une. C’est ce qui s’appelle avoir un temps d’avance !

kangoo_04

intérieur

CHARGEZ !

Alors que Renault Kangoo remplace un utilitaire (Renault Express), il affiche plus de volume de chargement que son prédécesseur (pas mal pour une familiale !). Il gagne en volume grâce à sa carrosserie bi-corps avec une ligne de toit en continuité entre l'avant et l'arrière, et à ses portes battantes à l’arrière pour la version utilitaire (tandis que le ludospace disposait d’un hayon). Les portes latérales coulissantes font aussi la différence !

kangoo_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Les années 90 étaient l’âge d’or des tubes de l’été. Renault Kangoo est un écho à cette tendance : ce ludospace qui permet d’équilibrer famille et loisir est le choix idéal pour partir en vacances avec toute la famille, au rythme de la Macarena !

caractéristiques techniques

ÉLECTRIQUE,

HYBRIDE,

GPL ET GNV

  • production

    de 1997 à 2007 à Maubeuge, France

    de 1999 à 2018 en Argentine

    2 300 000 exemplaires

  • performances et motorisation

    moteur transversal, essence et Diesel

    de 999 cm3 à 1 870 cm3

    de 55 à 95 ch selon les versions

    des versions électriques, Hybride, GPL et GNV étaient également proposées.

    de 135 à 170 km/h selon les versions

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,04 m
    largeur 2,03 m
    hauteur 1,86 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie bi-corps avec ligne de toit en continuité entre les parties avant et arrière

    traction + transmission 4x4 disponible

    portes battantes à l’arrière pour les utilitaires, hayon sur les ludospaces.

The Originals Store

LA PASSION RENAULT

A TROUVÉ SA BOUTIQUE !

Véritable fan de Renault ou simple amateur de véhicules classiques, chacun y trouvera son bonheur.

héritage

En plus de ses variantes utilitaires (Renault Kangoo Express), Renault Kangoo existe aussi en version électrique (Renault Kangoo Z.E.) qui équipera de nombreuses municipalités, administrations (comme La Poste) ou flottes d’entreprises. En 2008, Renault Kangoo Be-Bop se démarque avec ses 3 portes, sa carrosserie bi-colore, son toit vitré coulissant à l’arrière et sa lunette arrière qui s’escamote dans la porte. En outre, Renault Kangoo fait l’objet d’un véritable culte au Japon, avec notamment de grand rassemblements appelés « Kangoo Jamboree » près du Mont Fuji.

kangoo_10
explorer
The Originals