competitive dauphine

Dauphine Gordini

Renault Dauphine gordini
1968
scroll

TAKING OVER

FROM THE

QUEEN OF SALES

Renault Dauphine owes its name to its mission: to take over from the queen of sales from the 1950s: Renault 4CV. Its shared the engine located in the rear and the three-box body with its older sister. Result: Dauphine wowed the court as it in turn became the top-selling saloon in France. Dauphine Gordini was the result of the collaboration between Amédée Gordini and Renault.

1968
dauphinegordini_01
dauphinegordini_02
dauphinegordini_03

spirit

IT’S BETTER

WITH TWO

Following a victory by a classic Renault Dauphine at the Monte Carlo Rally and the Tour de Corse in 1956, Amédée Gordini had the idea of making a sporty version of this vehicle. The collaboration between Gordini and Renault started in 1961 with Ondine Gordini (Ondine had a higher finish than Dauphine), followed rapidly by Dauphine Gordini.

dauphinegordini_04

interior

4 x 2 = 8

Renault Dauphine Gordini was equipped with an 845 cc engine that forced it to compete in the 1000 cc category (where it was slightly below par in terms of performance). Anecdotally, this engine served as the base for development of a 1690 cc V8 engine. Obtained from 2 contiguous 4-cylinder engines, this V8 was intended for the Prototype 900, produced in 1959 and predating MPVs(!).

dauphinegordini_05
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

A Dauphine that sounds like a rally queen: discover the sounds of Dauphine Gordini.

technical features

178,223

UNITS

(1961-68)

  • production

    over 178,223 units from 1961 to 1968 out of 2.1 million Renault Dauphine units

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders inline, 845 cc

    38 hp

    126 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,95 m
    Width 1,52 m
    Height 1 ,40 m
  • architecture

    three-box saloon

    rear-wheel drive

The Originals Store

GORDINI

LINE

Renault Dauphine Gordini is one of the models from the famed sporty line, so hurry and discover its faithful reproductions.

explore
The Originals

dauphine de compétition

Dauphine Gordini

Renault Dauphine gordini
1968
scroll

SUCCÉDER

À LA REINE

DES VENTES

Renault Dauphine doit son nom à sa mission : succéder à la reine des ventes des années 50 : Renault 4CV. Elle partage donc avec sa grande sœur un moteur situé à l’arrière et une carrosserie tricorps. Résultat : Dauphine ravira la couronne en devenant à son tour la berline la plus vendue en France. Dauphine Gordini est pour sa part issue de la collaboration entre Amédée Gordini et la Régie Renault.

1968
dauphinegordini_01
dauphinegordini_02
dauphinegordini_03

esprit

À DEUX

C’EST MIEUX

Suite à une victoire d’une Renault Dauphine classique au Rallye de Monte Carlo et au Tour de Corse en 1956, Amédée Gordini eu l’idée de faire une version sportive de celle-ci. La collaboration entre Gordini et Renault débuta en 1961 avec Ondine Gordini (Ondine était une finition supérieure de Dauphine), suivie rapidement par Dauphine Gordini.

dauphinegordini_04

intérieur

4 x 2 = 8

Renault Dauphine Gordini était dotée d’un moteur de 845 cm3 qui l’obligeait à concourir en catégorie 1 000 cm3 (où elle était un peu juste en performance). Pour l’anecdote, ce moteur servit de base au développement d’un moteur V8 de 1 690 cm3. Obtenu à partir de 2 moteurs 4 cylindres accolés, ce V8 était destiné au Prototype 900, réalisé en 1959 et préfigurant déjà les monospaces (!).

dauphinegordini_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Une Dauphine qui sonne comme une reine du rallye : découvrez les sons de Dauphine Gordini.

caractéristiques techniques

178 223

EXEMPLAIRES

(1961-68)

  • production

    178 223 exemplaires de 1961 à 1968

    sur 2,1 millions d’exemplaires Renault Dauphine

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en ligne de 845 cm3

    38 ch

    126 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,95 m
    largeur 1,52 m
    hauteur 1 ,40 m
  • architecture

    berline tricorps

    transmission aux roues arrière

The Originals Store

GRIFFE

GORDINI

Renault Dauphine Gordini se place parmi les modèles de la célèbre griffe sportive, alors n’hésitez pas à découvrir ses fidèles reproductions.

explorer
The Originals