a true 4-seater

Type G

TypeG
1902
scroll

FROM A TO G

In 1898, Renault used alphabet letters to name its cars. The very first one - logically - was Type A, followed by Type B, Type C, etc. In 1902, Renault was already at Type G. This was the largest Renault ever produced and was a true and comfortable 4-seater.

1902
typeg_01
typeg_02
typeg_03

spirit

THE PRESS

APPROVES

With its 4 comfortable seats and “Barrel” bodywork built on a separate chassis, Renault Type G was heralded by the press, who described it as a “good and attractive car which lives up to the reputation of Monsieur Louis Renault on the motor market.”

typeg_03

interior

WHERE ARE

THE BRAKES?

Although it offered 4 seats, Type G weighed only 450 kg. With its De Dion-Bouton 6 HP engine, 864 then 939 cc, it could reach 53 kph (impressive in 1902). So the braking had to be top-notch. The rear drums were controlled by a lever along with a pedal that activated a device acting on the transmission.

typeg_05

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

For a trip back to 1902 with brass horns, discover the sounds of Renault Type G.

technical features

DE DION-BOUTON

SINGLE-CYLINDER

ENGINE

  • Performance and engine

    De Dion-Bouton single-cylinder unit

    864 then 939 cc

    6 HP

    3-speed gearbox + reverse

    53 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,11 m
    Width 1,46 m
    Height 2,20 m
  • architecture

    front engine, rear-wheel drive

    Barrel bodywork positioned on separate chassis

The Originals Store

NOSTALGIA

A Renault fan or just a classic car enthusiast? There’s something here for you!

heritage

OWN BRAND

ENGINE

After its innovations in braking and on the gearbox for the Type G, Renault has a remaining challenge, namely to equip its cars with its own engines. It met this challenge in 1902, with a dual-cylinder engine then by fitting the Type K with a 4-cylinder engine, which incidentally won the Paris-Vienna race (in Austria) the same year.

typeg_11
explore
The Originals

une vraie 4 places

Type G

TypeG
1902
scroll

DE A à G

En 1898, Renault utilise les lettres de l’alphabet pour la désignation de ses voitures. La toute première est – en toute logique –Type A, suivie de Type B, Type C, etc. En 1902, Renault en est déjà à Type G. C’est alors la plus grande Renault jamais produite et elle offre 4 vraies places confortables.

1902
typeg_01
typeg_02
typeg_03

esprit

LA PRESSE

APPROUVE

Avec ses 4 places confortables et carrosserie Tonneau positionnée sur un châssis séparé, Renault Type G est saluée par la presse qui la décrit comme « une jolie et bonne voiture qui est à la hauteur de la réputation que se sont faite MM. Louis Renault sur le marché de l’automobiliste » (sic).

typeg_03

intérieur

OÙ SONT

LES FREINS ?

Bien qu’offrant 4 places, Type G ne pesait que 450 kg. Avec son moteur De Dion-Bouton à 6 CV de 864 puis 939 cm3, elle pouvait atteindre les 53 km/h (impressionnant en 1902). Il fallait donc mettre l’accent sur le freinage. Les tambours arrière sont commandés par un levier et complétés par une pédale actionnant un dispositif agissant sur la transmission.

typeg_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Pour un retour en 1902 et aux klaxons en laiton, découvrez les sons de Renault Type G

caractéristiques techniques

MOTEUR

MONOCYLINDRE

DE DION-BOUTON

  • performances et motorisation

    performances et motorisation monocylindre de Dion-Bouton

    864 puis 939 cm3

    6 CV
    boite de vitesses 3 rapports + AR

    53 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,11 m
    largeur 1,46 m
    hauteur 2,20 m
  • architecture

    propulsion à moteur avant

    carrosserie Tonneau positionnée

    sur un châssis séparé

The Originals Store

RETOUR

DANS

LE PASSÉ

Véritable fan de Renault ou simple amateur de véhicules classiques, chacun y trouvera son bonheur.

héritage

MOTEUR

MAISON

Après ses innovations sur le freinage et sur la boîte de vitesses sur Type G, il reste un défi pour Renault : équiper ses voitures de ses propres moteurs. Il relèvera ce défi dès 1902, avec un moteur bi-cylindre puis en équipant Type K d’un moteur de 4 cylindres, qui remportera d’ailleurs la course Paris-Vienne (en Autriche) la même année.

typeg_11
explorer
The Originals