the yellow teapot

F1 RS 01

F1RS01
1979
scroll

PROVOCATIVE

In 1977, Renault provoked the British - at the time F1 specialists - by launching RS01, a single-seater equipped “only” with a small turbocharged 4-cylinder 1.5 litre engine. At the time, Formula 1 usually had a V8 (or even 12-cylinder) engine. Although results were not as expected, RS01 paved the way for Renault’s incredible F1 history.

1979

spirit

LESS

FOR

MORE

With its oil partner Elf, Renault developed an innovative F1 engine, which it first tested in endurance with a 2-litre cylinder (this engine also led the Renault Alpine A442 B to victory in the 24 Heures du Mans in 1978). The capacity was then reduced to less than 1500 cc to comply with F1 standards. It was with this turbo engine that RS01, Renault’s first Formula 1, would compete in the British Grand Prix in 1977.

Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

Listen to the sounds of RS01 to relive Renault’s early Formula 1 career.

exploits

GO WHERE

NO RENAULT

HAS BEEN

Renault RS01’s Grand Prix results are maybe nothing to boast of, but engine breakages stopped and performance improved, and in the United States Grand Prix, Jean-Pierre Jabouille stood at the bottom of the podium in 4th place. But the main feat of RS01 was to pave the way for Renault in F1. RS01 was followed by RS10 (1st in the 1979 Dijon Grand Prix).

technical features

TURBOCHARGED

1492 cc ENGINE

  • production

    4 units

  • Performance and engine

    Turbocharged 6 cylinders inline, 1492 cc

    525 hp at 10,500 rpm

    around 300 kph depending on configuration

  • dimensions
    Length 4,50 m
    Width 2,00 m
    Height 1,20 m
  • architecture

    single-seater meeting FIA regulations for Formula 1 category

The Originals Store

A LITTLE PIECE

OF

SPORTING HISTORY

To celebrate Renault’s first F1, choose RS01 merchandise.

heritage

LIGHTING THE

WAY FOR

RENAULT IN F1

Renault RS01, Renault’s first Formule 1, was a trailblazer in the brand’s history in competition. Renault thus began its great journey which included 35 victories, 103 podium finishes, 51 pole positions and 2 world championship titles in 2005 and 2006, in addition to 10 world titles with Williams, Benetton and Red Bull Racing.

explore
The Originals

la théière jaune

F1 RS 01

F1RS01
1979
scroll

PROVOCANTE

En 1977, Renault provoque les Britanniques, alors spécialistes de la F1, en engageant RS01, une monoplace dotée « seulement » d’un petit moteur de 4 cylindres turbocompressé de 1,5 litre. À l’époque, les Formules 1 sont plutôt dotées de V8 (voire de moteurs à 12 cylindres). Bien que les résultats n’aient pas suivis, RS01 ouvrira la voie à l’incroyable histoire de Renault en F1.

1979

esprit

MOINS

POUR

PLUS

Avec son partenaire pétrolier Elf, Renault développe un innovant moteur de F1, qu’il testera d’abord en endurance avec une cylindrée de 2 litres (ce moteur mènera d’ailleurs Renault Alpine A442 B à la victoire aux 24 Heures du Mans de 1978). La cylindrée sera ensuite réduite à moins de 1 500 cm3 pour se conformer aux normes de la F1. C’est avec ce moteur turbo que RS01, la 1ère Formule 1 de Renault, sera engagée au Grand Prix de Grande-Bretagne 1977.

Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Écoutez les sons de RS01 pour revivre le début de la carrière de Renault en Formule 1.

exploits

ALLER OÙ

AUCUNE RENAULT

N’ÉTAIT ALLÉE

Les résultats en Grand Prix de Renault RS01 ne sont peut-être pas parlants, mais les casses moteur ont fini par s’arrêter, les performances se sont améliorées et au Grand Prix des États-Unis, le pilote Jean-Pierre Jabouille finira au pied du podium en 4ème position. Mais le principal exploit de RS01 a été d’ouvrir la voie à Renault en F1. RS01 sera suivie par RS10 (1ère au Grand Prix de Dijon en 1979).

caractéristiques techniques

MOTEUR

TURBOCOMPRESSÉ

DE 1 492 cm3

  • production

    4 exemplaires

  • performances et motorisation

    6 cylindres en V turbocompressé de 1492 cm3

    525 ch à 10 500 tr/min

    environ 300 km/h selon configuration

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,50 m
    largeur 2,00 m
    hauteur 1,20 m
  • architecture

    monoplace répondant à la réglementation FIA

    pour la catégorie Fomule 1

The Originals Store

UN MORCEAU

D’HISTOIRE

SPORTIVE

Pour célébrer la première F1 de Renault, optez pour les produits dérivés de RS01.

héritage

ÉCLAIREUR DE

RENAULT EN F1

Renault RS01, première Formule 1 de Renault, fut précurseur dans l’histoire de la marque en compétition. Renault débute ainsi son épopée qui comptera 35 victoires, 103 podiums, 51 pôles positions et 2 titres de champions du monde en 2005 et 2006, auxquels s’ajoutent 10 titres mondiaux en tant que motoriste avec Williams, Benetton et Red Bull Racing.

explorer
The Originals