beauty and the brute

Clio II V6

clio II V6
2005
scroll

FUNDAMENTALLY

SPORTY

In October 1998, 7 months after the launch of the second generation of Clio, Renault presented the Clio V6 concept, at the Paris Motor Show, with the aim of surveying public opinion. The sale of the standard version of Clio V6 kicked off in November 2000.

2005

spirit

ULTRA

CLIO

Renault Clio II, just like the first generation, achieved great commercial success. Between 1998 and 2003, it was the best-selling car in France. So Renault decided to develop an ultra-sporty Clio model, with a 3.0 L V6 engine with 226 hp (then 255 hp for the Clio V6 Phase 2).

interior

ENGINE OR

PASSENGER, YOU

HAVE TO CHOOSE.

With Clio V6, Renault planned to push the sporty look to the limits. The model had no rear seat, to make space for the V6 engine (a choice already seen with Renault 5 Turbo).

Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

In acceleration, the roaring of the Clio V6 engine will be music to the ears of aspiring drivers.

archives

SPEEDING UP

PRODUCTION

Sale of Renault Clio V6 began in 2000, just 2 years after the concept was presented at the motor show. To move the design process along faster, the development of the first Clio V6 was assigned to TWR, then owner of the F1 Arrows team. Later on, production of Clio V6 Phase 2 was brought back to the Renault plant at Dieppe (close to the Channel).

exploits

KEEPS

GETTING

BETTER

The first version of Clio V6 was already very sporty (226 hp as a reminder), but Phase 2 took it one step further. In 2003, Renault increased the engine power to 255 hp, to meet demand from customers wanting sporty engines. All performances were improved, reaching up to 250 kph (compared with 235 for Phase 1). And better still, Phase 2 offered better ease of driving, with new rear axle kinematics and better suspension settings.

technical features

V6 -

24 valves

  • production

    2822 units in total, 1309 of them for phase 2

  • Performance and engine

    V6 - 24 valves

    2900 cc

    255 hp

    237 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,84 m
    Width 1,83 m
    Height 1,37 m
  • architecture

    hatchback saloon

    rear-wheel drive

    rear mid-engine

Renault shop

SUPER

SHOPPING

A Renault fan or just a classic car enthusiast? There’s something here for you!

heritage

A HIGHLY

SOUGHT-AFTER V6

Production of the rocket-like Clio V6 (Phase 1 and Phase 2) ended in July 2005. Only 2822 units were produced in total (of which 1309 in Phase 2). The car was particularly sought-after among collectors of Renault sports cars.

explore
The Originals

la belle et la brute

Clio II V6

clio II V6
2005
scroll

RADICALEMENT

SPORTIVE

En octobre 1998, 7 mois après le lancement de la deuxième génération de Clio, Renault présente un concept de Clio V6, lors du Mondial de l’Automobile de Paris, l’objectif étant de prendre la température auprès du public. Résultat : la commercialisation de la version de série de Clio V6 débute en novembre 2000.

2005

esprit

ULTRA

CLIO

Renault Clio II connaît, comme la première génération, un grand succès commercial. En France, elle sera la voiture la plus vendue entre 1998 et 2003. Renault décide donc de développer une version ultra-sportive de Clio, avec un moteur V6 de 3,0 L développant 226 ch (puis 255 ch pour la Clio V6 Phase 2).

intérieur

MOTEUR OU

PASSAGER,

IL FAUT CHOISIR.

Avec Clio V6, Renault veut pousser la sportivité à son comble. Le modèle ne dispose d’ailleurs pas de banquette arrière, celle-ci laissant la place au moteur V6 (un choix déjà vu avec Renault 5 Turbo).

Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

En accélération, le rugissement du moteur de Clio V6 fera tressaillir de plaisir les oreilles des pilotes en herbe.

archives

PRODUIRE

PLUS VITE

La commercialisation de Renault Clio V6 débute en 2000, seulement 2 ans après la présentation d’un concept au Mondial. Pour raccourcir les délais de conception, le développement de la première Clio V6 est confié à TWR, alors propriétaire de l’écurie de F1 Arrows. Plus tard, la production de la Clio V6 Phase 2 sera rapatriée dans l’usine de Renault Dieppe (au bord de la Manche).

exploits

TOUJOURS

MIEUX

La première version de Clio V6 est déjà très sportive (226 ch, rappelons-le), mais la Phase 2 enfonce le clou. En 2003, Renault augmente la puissance du moteur à 255 ch, pour répondre à la demande de la clientèle friande de sportivité. L’ensemble des performances sont améliorées, pour atteindre jusqu’à 250 km/h sur circuit (contre 235 pour la Phase 1). Et encore mieux, la Phase 2 offre plus de facilité de pilotage, grâce à une nouvelle cinématique du train arrière et de meilleurs réglages de suspension.

caractéristiques techniques

V6

24 SOUPAPES

  • production

    2 822 exemplaires au total,

    dont 1 309 pour la phase 2

  • performances et motorisation

    V6 - 24 soupapes

    2 900 cm3

    255 ch

    237 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,84 m
    largeur 1,83 m
    hauteur 1,37 m
  • architecture

    berline bicorps

    propulsion

    moteur en position centrale arrière

boutique Renault

SUPER

SHOPPING

Véritable fan de Renault ou simple amateur de véhicules classiques, chacun y trouvera son bonheur.

héritage

RARE V6,

CHÈRE V6 !

La production de ce bolide qu’est Clio V6 (Phase 1 comme Phase 2) s’arrête en juillet 2005. Seuls 2 822 exemplaires auront été produits au total (dont 1 309 Phase 2). La voiture est donc particulièrement bien cotée dans le milieu des collectionneurs de Renault sportives.

explorer
The Originals