the Renault workhorse

Estafette

Estafette
1978
scroll

THE GENDARMES’

FAVOURITE

Best-known as the French gendarmes van (an image no doubt fuelled by the well-known Gendarmes films of the time), Renault Estafette was the emblematic utility vehicle of the 30 Glorieuses post-war period. With its vast loading area, the sliding door on the driver’s side and its multiple variants for every kind of use, Renault Estafette was favoured by every kind of professional.

1978
Estafette_01
Estafette_02
Estafette_03

spirit

ALL THAT VOLUME

Renault Estafette was first and foremost designed for professionals. And Renault did its utmost to make their life easier. For example, the sliding driver’s door meant you could still get out of the vehicle, even when parking space was tight. The low floor, the engine over the front axle, and the front-wheel drive configuration all allowed for maximum useful volume to carry an array of goods and equipment. A real workhorse!

Estafette_04

interior

PRO

THINKING

Over its long career (which ended in 1980), Renault Estafette was adapted to create countless versions for every kind of professional use (and for campers too): pick-up, raised van, extended van, 9-seater minibus, camper van, and so on. This diversity sprang from real know-how which Renault continued to develop.

Estafette_05
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

The sounds that go with Renault Estafette hint at a job well done and the right tools for the job. If the van is empty, you almost hear an echo as you shut the door, it’s so roomy in there!

archives

FIRST !

In 1900, Renault was one of the first automakers to develop light commercial vehicles. Launched in 1959, Renault Estafette was the latest addition to a long lineage. It can even boast of being ahead of the Renault 4. That’s right.... Renault Estafette was Renault’s first front-wheel drive model, before the famous “4L” (which was Renault’s first front-wheel drive passenger car).

play
Estafette_06

technical features

FIRST RENAULT

FRONT-WHEEL

DRIVE

  • production

    530,000 units from 1959 to 1980

  • Performance and engine

    from 845 cm3 to 1,289 cm3

    32-45 hp depending on version

  • dimensions
    Length from 4.10 m to 4.48 m, depending on version
    Width 1,78 m
    Height from 1.92 m to 2.27 m, depending on version
  • architecture

    front-wheel drive

    longitudinal engine placed over the front axle between the two seats

    low floor

The Originals Store

SOMETHING

TO CELEBRATE?

(or to say sorry?!)

If so, treat yourself to a few Renault Estafette souvenirs.

heritage

GIVE AND

RECEIVE

In the 1950s, Renault started to develop composite materials, particularly for Renault Etoile Filante. This research later resulted in the roof on the raised versions of Renault Estafette, the first major bodywork component made from composite materials by Renault in Choisy. That roof then inspired the composite bumpers on Renault 15 and 17, and became more widespread with the launch of Renault R5. Adieu to the metal bumper!

 Estafette_15
 Estafette_16
explore
The Originals

Renault, boulot, dodo

Estafette

Estafette
1978
scroll

PAS QUE

LES

GENDARMES

Évidemment connue pour avoir été la fourgonnette des gendarmes (image largement véhiculée par les films éponymes), Renault Estafette a été l’utilitaire des 30 Glorieuses. Entre sa vaste zone de chargement, sa portière conducteur coulissante ou encore ses nombreuses variantes pour tous les usages, Renault Estafette peut servir à tous les professionnels.

1978
Estafette_01
Estafette_02
Estafette_03

esprit

VOLUME

À FOND

Renault Estafette c’est avant tout un véhicule pour les pros. Renault veille donc à leur faciliter la vie. Ainsi, la portière du conducteur coulissante permet de sortir du véhicule même si la place de stationnement est un peu juste. Le plancher bas, mais aussi le moteur situé en porte-à-faux de l’essieu avant et la transmission également à l’avant offrent un volume utilisable maximal, pour transporter tous les matériaux nécessaires. Au travail !

Estafette_04

intérieur

PENSÉE

PROS

Au cours de sa longue carrière (jusqu’en 1980), Renault dérivera Estafette en de nombreuses versions pour tous les usages des professionnels (et des touristes aussi) : pick-up, fourgon surélevé, rallongé, microbus 9 places, camping-car, etc. Cette diversité est un véritable savoir-faire que Renault ne cessera de développer.

Estafette_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Les sons de Renault Estafette évoquent le travail bien fait et surtout les outils pour le faire. Si la camionnette est vide, vous entendrez presque de l’écho en claquant les portières, tellement il y a d’espace.

archives

FIRST !

Dès 1900, Renault est l’une des premières marques à développer des véhicules utilitaires légers. Lancée en 1959, Renault Estafette est l’héritière de cette longue expérience. Elle peut même s’enorgueillir d’avoir damer le pion à Renault 4. Et oui, Renault Estafette a été le premier modèle à traction de Renault avant la célèbre « 4L » (qui elle était la première voiture particulière à traction de Renault).

jouer
Estafette_06

caractéristiques techniques

PREMIÈRE

TRACTION

DE RENAULT

  • production

    530 000 exemplaires de 1959 à 1980

  • performances et motorisation

    de 845 cm3 à 1 289 cm3

    de 32 à 45 ch selon les versions

  • dimensions
    longueur de 4,10 m à 4,48 m selon les versions
    largeur 1,78 m
    hauteur de 1,92 m à 2,27 m selon les versions
  • architecture

    transmission aux roues avant moteur longitudinal

    situé en porte-à-faux de l’essieu avant entre les deux sièges

    plancher bas

The Originals Store

EST-CE

TA FÊTE ?

(Pardon)

Si oui, fais-toi plaisir avec quelques souvenirs de Renault.

héritage

RECEVOIR

ET DONNER

Dans les années 50, Renault développe des matériaux composites, notamment pour Etoile Filante. Ces recherches permettront le développement du toit des versions surélevées d’Estafette, 1er élément de carrosserie de grande dimension en composite réalisé par Renault à Choisy. Ensuite, ce toit en composite donna naissance aux boucliers en composite, apparus sur Renault 15 et 17, et généralisés sur R5. Ce fut la mort des pare-chocs en tôle !

 Estafette_15
 Estafette_16
explorer
The Originals