“the” pear

R14

Renault 14 - 2
1976
scroll

WHET

YOUR

APPETITE

In the early 1970s, the Renault mid-range was represented by Renault 12. To complete the brand’s range, all that was missing was a hatchback, the trademark of Renault since it launched Renault 4, then Renault 16, in the 1960s. This gap was filled in 1976 by Renault 14, memorably nicknamed the “pear”.

1976
Twinner_R14_001
Twinner_R14_002
Twinner_R14_003

mindset

COMPUTER

GENERATION

Renault 14 was one of the very first cars produced using CAD. Another first: it was the first car to have built-in rearview mirrors in the corners of the front windows, extending out from the wings. In addition, this hatchback was the first Renault car to feature an engine in the transverse position (shared with Peugeot!); this layout was later adopted on Renault 9.

Twinner_R14_004

interior

SPACIOUSNESS

The transverse engine was one of the main innovations of Renault 14. This engine block, shared with Peugeot 104, saved a great deal of space, in turn improving the spaciousness (“minimum room for the engine, maximum comfort”). This 1st Renault compact was as roomy as Renault 16 (but 24 cm longer). Besides its spaciousness, Renault 14 also focused on comfort (with independent suspension), modularity (thanks to the tailgate), interior usability and passive safety.

Twinner_R14_005
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Computer-aided design, electronic sounds? To be sure, listen to the sounds of Renault 14 TL.

Technical features

AROUND

1 MILLION

UNITS

  • production

    AROUND 1 MILLION UNITS

  • Performance and engine

    top speed: 157 kph

    4 in-line cylinders, positioned transversally

    from 1,218 cm³ to 1,360 cm³ / 57 hp to 70 hp

  • dimensions
    Length 4,02 m
    Width 1,62 m
    Height 1,4 m
  • architecture

    hatchback

    powertrain shared with Peugeot, in the transverse position

    rear suspension derived from Renault 5, adapted to the dimensions and weight of Renault 14

The Originals Store

STYLE

76

Pay a visit to The Originals Renault Store online for Renault 14 products.

explore
The Originals

« la » poire

R14

Renault 14 - 2
1976
scroll

OUVRIR

L’APPÉTIT

Au début des années 70, le milieu de gamme de Renault est représenté par Renault 12. Pour compléter l’offre de la marque, il manque une berline bicorps, marque de fabrique de Renault depuis le lancement dans les années 60 de Renault 4 puis de Renault 16. Ce manque sera comblé en 1976 par Renault 14, dont le surnom de « poire » restera en mémoire.

1976
Twinner_R14_001
Twinner_R14_002
Twinner_R14_003

esprit

GÉNÉRATION

ORDINATEUR

Renault 14 sera l’une des toutes premières voitures dont la conception aura été assistée par ordinateur. Autre première : elle sera la première voiture à afficher des rétroviseurs intégrés dans le coin des vitres avant, en prolongement des ailes. De plus, cette berline bicorps à hayon sera la première voiture de Renault à proposer un moteur en position transversale (partagé avec Peugeot !) ; cette implantation sera d’ailleurs reprise sur Renault 9.

Twinner_R14_004

intérieur

HA-BI-TA-BI-LI-TÉ

Le moteur en position transversale est l’une des principales innovations de Renault 14. Ce bloc moteur, partagé avec la Peugeot 104, permet un réel gain de place, ce qui favorise l’habitabilité («un minimum de place pour le moteur, un maximum pour le confort»). 1ère voiture compacte de Renault, elle est aussi spacieuse que Renault 16 (pourtant 24 cm plus longue). Outre son habitabilité, Renault 14 misait aussi sur le confort (avec une suspension à roues indépendantes), sur la modularité (grâce au coffre à hayon), sur la convivialité intérieure et sur la sécurité passive.

Twinner_R14_005
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

À design assisté par ordinateur, sons électroniques ? Pour vous en assurer, écoutez les sons de Renault 14 TL.

caractéristiques techniques

ENVIRON

1 MILLION

D’EXEMPLAIRES

  • production

    1 million d’exemplaires environ

  • performances et motorisation

    vitesse maxi : 157 km/h

    4 cylindres en ligne positionné transversalement

    de 1 218 cm3 à 1 360 cm3 / 57 ch à 70 ch

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,02 m
    largeur 1,62 m
    hauteur 1,4 m
  • architecture

    berline bicorps avec hayon

    groupe motopropulseur partagé avec Peugeot en position transversale

    train arrière dérivé de celui de la Renault 5, adapté aux dimensions et au poids de la Renault 14

The Originals Store

STYLE

76

Rendez-vous sur la boutique en ligne The Originals Renault Store pour les produits Renault 14.

explorer
The Originals