let everyone drive

Type II

Type II
1923
scroll

NO MORE

CHAUFFEURS

At the close of the Second World War, Renault realized that a new clientele may be interested in its cars. So it decided to offer simple models, easy to maintain and drive, so that chauffeurs were no longer needed. The first car of this type was Renault 10 CV Type GS (1920), which evolved into Type IG then Type II.

1923

interior

NO CONNECTIONS

REQUIRED

Renault Type II presented several interesting features. First of all, the gearbox, the transmission shaft and the axle were joined together without any mechanical (universal joints) or flexible (flectors) articulation. In addition, the rear suspension was achieved by a single transverse leaf spring. The model was offered in several versions.

Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

The sounds of Renault Type II take us back some 100 years.

archives

DELIVERED TO

YOUR DOOR

The Type II van version presented here is in the colours of Felix Potin, the name of the famed grocer who opened his first store in 1844 in Paris. The retail name disappeared in 1995, after having graced up to 1,300 stores. The sales methods employed by this brand included a home delivery service introduced in 1870, first using horse-drawn carts then motor cars (with support from Renault Type II) serving 217 areas of the Paris region.

technical features

10 HP

ENGINE

  • production

    figures unavailable

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders inline

    2120 cc - 10 HP

    3-speed gearbox + reverse

    65 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 4,01 m
    Width 1,75 m
    Height 2,12 m
  • architecture

    front engine, rear-wheel drive

    bodywork positioned on a separate chassis

The Originals Store

TYPICAL

A Renault fan or just a classic car enthusiast? There’s something here for you!

explore
The Originals

tous au volant

Type II

Type II
1923
scroll

LA FIN DES

CHAUFFEURS

À la sortie de la Première Guerre Mondiale, Renault se rend compte qu’une nouvelle clientèle pourrait s’intéresser à ses voitures. Il décide donc de leur proposer des modèles simples faciles à entretenir et à conduire, ce qui permet de se passer du chauffeur. La première voiture de ce type sera Renault 10 CV Type GS (1920), qui évoluera en Type IG puis en Type II.

1923

intérieur

DÉSARTICULÉE

Renault Type II présente plusieurs caractéristiques intéressantes. En premier lieu, la boite, l'arbre de transmission et le pont sont solidaires sans aucune articulation mécanique (cardans) ni souple (flectors). De plus, la suspension arrière est assurée par un ressort à lame unique et transversal. Le modèle sera en outre proposé en plusieurs versions.

Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Les sons de Renault Type II nous renvoient près de 100 ans en arrière.

archives

LIVRÉ

À VOTRE

PORTE

La version fourgon de Type II présenté ici est aux couleurs de Felix Potin, du nom du célèbre épicier qui ouvrira sa première boutique en 1844 à Paris. Son enseigne disparaîtra en 1995 après avoir compté jusqu’à 1300 magasins. Parmi les méthodes modernes de vente mises en place par l’enseigne, on trouve dès 1870 un service de livraison à domicile, d’abord avec des voitures à cheval puis avec des automobiles (grâce à l’appui de Renault Type II) desservant 217 communes de la région parisienne.

caractéristiques techniques

MOTEUR

10 CV

  • production

    chiffres indisponibles

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en ligne

    2120 cm3 - 10 CV

    boite de vitesses à 3 rapports + AR

    65 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,01 m
    largeur 1,75 m
    hauteur 2,12 m
  • architecture

    propulsion à moteur avant

    carrosserie positionnée sur un châssis séparé

The Originals Store

C’EST

TYPIQUE

Véritable fan de Renault ou simple amateur de véhicules classiques, chacun y trouvera son bonheur.

explorer
The Originals