rs: the origins.

Spider

Spider
1996
scroll

HELMETS

REQUIRED

There was no doubt about it: the Renault Sport Spider, revealed at the Geneva Motor Show in 1995, was a sports car. Renault had put so much into the car’s performance that the occupants were asked to wear helmets.

1996
spider_01
spider_02
spider_03

spirit

NOTHING BUT

PERFORMANCE

Streamlining and efficiency are synonymous with Renault Sport Spider. Wishing to focus exclusively on the sporty aspect, Renault designed its Spider in the form of a racing car, without a windscreen, with just a wind deflector to optimize aerodynamics. The interior is also cleared to streamline the vehicle.

spider_04

interior

SPORT CAR

RECIPE

The ingredients for top performance: an efficient engine and a light car. Renault Sport Spider had a 4-cylinder 16 valve engine achieving 150 hp (the same engine as on Clio Williams). In addition, between its aluminium chassis and the lack of power steering and braking, ABS and heating, Spider remained under 790 kg. The bucket seats and roll arch were a throwback to the race track.

spider_05
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

How did the first Renault Sport “sound”? Discover it here, listen to the sounds of Renault Sport Spider.

archives

RS, A

SIGNATURE.

Renault Sport Spider was produced in limited edition (only 1,726 vehicles were produced) at the Dieppe plant, which until then had assembled Alpines. What is remarkable is that Spider was the first representative of a new branch that would soon make a distinguished name for itself: Renault Sport. The RS line capitalised on the image of Renault’s many Formula 1 victories.

spider_06

technical features

UP TO 180 HP

(TROPHY VERSION)

  • production

    1726 units from 1996 to 1999 (90 of them in Trophy version)

  • Performance and engine

    4-cylinder 1998 cc petrol engine in rear mid position

    150 hp (180 hp for the Trophy version)

    rear-wheel drive

    210 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,81 m
    Width 1,83 m
    Height 1 ,25 m
  • architecture

    roadster with rear mid-engine

    aluminium chassis

The Originals Store

RS ORIGINS

A Renault fan or just a classic car enthusiast? There’s something here for you!

explore
The Originals

RS : la genèse.

Spider

Spider
1996
scroll

CASQUE DE

RIGUEUR

Le moins que l’on puisse dire, c’est que Renault Sport Spider, qui a été dévoilé au Salon de Genève de 1995, est une voiture sportive. Renault a tellement misé sur la performance que les occupants sont priés de porter des casques.

1996
spider_01
spider_02
spider_03

esprit

RIEN QUE LA

PERFORMANCE

Dépouillement et efficacité sont les maîtres mots pour définir Renault Sport Spider. Voulant se concentrer exclusivement sur la sportivité, Renault a designé son Spider sous la forme d’une barquette, sans pare-brise, avec seulement un saute-vent, pour optimiser l’aérodynamisme. L’intérieur est également dépouillé, pour alléger le véhicule.

spider_04

intérieur

RECETTE

SPORTIVE

Ingrédients pour de bonnes performances : un moteur efficace et une voiture légère. Renault Sport Spider est donc doté d’un moteur de 4 cylindres et 16 soupapes développant 150 CV (moteur qui équipait également Clio Williams). De plus, entre son châssis en aluminium et l’absence d’assistances de direction et de freinage, d’ABS et de chauffage, Spider reste sous les 790 kg. Les sièges baquets et l’arceau renforcent l’esprit circuit.

spider_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Comment « sonnait » la première Renault Sport ? Découvrez-le ici, en écoutant les sons de Renault Sport Spider.

archives

RS, UNE

SIGNATURE.

Renault Sport Spider est produit en petite série (le modèle ne fut produit qu’à 1 726 exemplaires) dans l’usine de Dieppe qui assemblait jusque-là les Alpine. Point remarquable : Spider est le premier représentant d’une nouvelle branche qui se fera rapidement un nom prestigieux : Renault Sport. La griffe RS capitalise sur l’image des nombreuses victoires de Renault en Formule 1.

spider_06

caractéristiques techniques

JUSQU’À 180 CH

(VERSION TROPHY)

  • production

    1 726 exemplaires de 1996 à 1999

    (dont 90 en version Trophy)

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres essence de 1 998 cm2 en position centrale arrière

    150 ch (180 ch pour la version Trophy)

    transmission aux roues arrière 210 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,81 m
    largeur 1,83 m
    hauteur 1 ,25 m
  • architecture

    roadster avec moteur en position centrale arrière

    châssis en aluminium

The Originals Store

ORIGINES

RS

Véritable fan de Renault ou simple amateur de véhicules classiques, chacun y trouvera son bonheur.

explorer
The Originals