Stranger renault

Projet 900

Renault Projet 900
1959
scroll

UNIQUE

In the early 1960s, Renault developed several prototypes with one mission in mind: to optimise interior space and passenger comfort. Their design was atypical to say the least, with its forward cabin and rear-mounted engine. This albeit asymmetrical line emphasised the spacious and bright interior. Several projects would emerge: Renault Projet 600 (based on Renault Dauphine), followed by Renault Projet 900, which added new details to the same basic structure.

1959
Twinner_projet900_001
Twinner_projet900_002
Twinner_projet900_003

spirit

DESIGNER MADNESS

When designing Renault Projet 900, the backwards concept car, Sergio Coggiola (designer for 15 years at the Ghia workshops in Turin) and Michel Béligond (talented Renault designer) openly created a baffling shape to provide a more spacious interior. The engine is mounted behind the cabin (an MPV well ahead of its time) which is shifted forward; however, the engine remains in a central position in front of the rear wheels!

Twinner_projet900_004

interior

DUAL ENGINE

Renault Projet 900 was fitted with a 1.7-litre V8 80-horsepower mid-engine located behind the cabin. The unit was developed by coupling two Renault Dauphine engines, using a crankshaft designed specially for this operation. Renault Projet 900 was also made of aluminium (weight was already a key concern at the time!), and its air suspension enhanced comfort.

Twinner_projet900_005
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Unique vehicle, unique sound: discover the sounds of Renault Projet 900.

technical features

8-CYLINDER INLINE

  • Performance and engine

    Max. speed: over 140 km/h

    8-cylinder inline

    1,690 cc, approx. 80 hp

  • dimensions
    Length 4.33 m
    Width 1.78 m
    Height 1.55 m
  • architecture

    - Forward placement of the MPV cabin

    - The mid-engine is mounted behind the cabin but in front of the rear wheels.

The Originals Store

THE ONE AND ONLY

For related products as original as Renault Projet 900, visit The Originals Renault shop.

heritage

UNIQUE

DESIGN

Renault Projet 900 would remain a prototype; however, the project proved that the interior space was a primary concern for the Renault designers as early as the 1960s. Renault Projet 900 can thus be considered a forebear (at least in spirit) to Renault Espace, which was unveiled in 1984, thus sparking the MPV trend to emphasise interior space and modularity.

Heritage_Projet900_001
Heritage_Projet900_002
explore
The Originals

stranger renault

Projet 900

Renault Projet 900
1959
scroll

ATYPIQUE

Début des années 60 : Renault développe plusieurs prototypes, avec une mission : optimiser l’espace intérieur, pour le confort des passagers. Le design de ces prototypes est pour le moins atypique, avec notamment une cabine avancée et le moteur placé à l’arrière, ce qui créé une ligne certes un peu déséquilibrée mais mettant l’accent sur une bonne habitabilité (avec un intérieur vaste et lumineux). Plusieurs projets verront le jour, dont Renault Projet 600 (basé sur Renault Dauphine), puis Renault Projet 900, qui conserve la même architecture, mais diffère dans ses détails.

1959
Twinner_projet900_001
Twinner_projet900_002
Twinner_projet900_003

esprit

FOLIE DE DESIGNERS

Il est un peu difficile de reconnaître l’avant de l’arrière de Renault Projet 900. La raison : les designers Sergio Coggiola (designer durant 15 ans aux ateliers Ghia de Turin) et Michel Béligond (talentueux designer de Renault) n’hésitent pas à créer une forme déroutante pour gagner en espace intérieur. Ainsi, l’implantation de la cabine (de type monospace, bien avant l’heure) est avancée, et le moteur se trouve derrière l’habitable. La motorisation reste néanmoins en position centrale, puisqu’elle se trouve en avant des roues arrière !

Twinner_projet900_004

intérieur

DOUBLE MOTEUR

Le moteur de Renault Projet 900, en position centrale bien que derrière l’habitacle, est un V8 de 1,7 l, développant 80 ch. Il est né du rapprochement de deux blocs de Renault Dauphine, rendu possible grâce à la création, pour l’occasion, d’un vilebrequin spécifique. De plus, Renault Projet 900 est en aluminium (on pensait déjà au gain de poids à l’époque !) et les suspensions sont pneumatiques pour plus de confort.

Twinner_projet900_005
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

À véhicule unique, son unique : découvrez les sons de Renault Projet 900.

caractéristiques techniques

8 CYLINDRES

EN V

  • performances et motorisation

    Vitesse maxi : + de 140 km/h

    8 cylindres en V

    1 690 cm3, 80 ch env.

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,33 m
    largeur 1,78 m
    hauteur 1,55 m
  • architecture

    - Implantation de type monospace avec cabine avancée

    - Le moteur se trouve derrière l’habitacle mais en position centrale, puisqu’il est placé en avant des roues arrière.

The Originals Store

LA SEULE

L’UNIQUE

Pour des produits dérivés aussi originaux que Renault Projet 900, rendez-vous sur la boutique Renault The Originals.

héritage

L’ESPACE EN

TÊTE

Renault Projet 900 est resté à l’état de prototype. Néanmoins, la réflexion entamée par la marque avec ce projet montre que l’espace intérieur était une préoccupation des designers de Renault dès les années 60. Renault Projet 900 peut ainsi être considéré comme un ancêtre (dans l’esprit en tous cas) de Renault Espace, qui sera dévoilé en 1984 et lancera la mode des monospaces qui feront la part belle au volume intérieur et à la modularité.

Heritage_Projet900_001
Heritage_Projet900_002
explorer
The Originals