american elegance

Floride

floride
1961
scroll

FLORIDE,

AKA

CARAVELLE

In the mid-50s, Pierre Dreyfus, then Chairman of Régie Renault, dreamed of America and decided to launch a convertible to win over the US market. And behold Renault Floride! The car was (wisely) renamed Caravelle in the United States, to keep clients in the 49 other American states happy!

1961
floride_1
floride_2
floride_3

spirit

MY

CUSTOM

STYLE

Renault Floride – freedom! Freedom to choose your preferred version of the “American” Renault: a hardtop coupé, a cabriolet, or a cabriolet that converts into a coupé. Note that there was no need to remove the top from the convertible version to switch from coupé to cabriolet, as it had a folding roof.

floride_4

interior

A BEST-SELLER

A Renault Floride coupé or convertible, fitted with a 845 cm3 engine and - here’s bonus - more affordable than the competition? What more could you ask for? Nothing really, and the car was a hit! Such a hit that Renault was overwhelmed by demand and forced to increase production capacity by calling on Chausson and Brissonneau-et-Lotz.

floride_5
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

Are you torn between French pop and country music? Then Renault Floride is the one for you! Memories of the 1960s and the American dream.

archives

AN OPEN-TOP

DAUPHINE

To speed up the development of this convertible designed to appeal to the American market, Renault used the technical base of Renault Dauphine, which was already selling well across the Atlantic. And thus began Renault’s American adventure with Renault Floride.

floride_6

technical features

117,000

UNITS

MANUFACTURED

  • production

    117,000 units from 1959 to 1968 (Floride + Caravelle)

  • Performance and engine

    845 cm3

    4 cylinders inline

    40 hp

    125 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 4,26 m
    Width 1,58 m
    Height 1,31 m
  • architecture

    two-seater cabriolet bodywork, “convertible” cabriolet, hardtop coupé, 2+2 coupé (Caravelle)

    longitudinal engine to the rear

The Originals Store

RETRO

STYLE

Renault Floride or Caravelle – a car that inspires. Retro American design that will appeal to hipsters... and their parents!

heritage

FLORIDE FROM

THE PRODUCTION LINE

In 1962, after the launch of Renault Floride in 1958, Renault brought out the Renault Floride S and 2+2 Caravelle (which was not the original Caravelle but the Renault Floride renamed for the American market - not too complicated, is it??!). Renault Floride has its origins in Renault Dauphine, while its successors took their mechanical components from another Renault model: Renault R8.

floride_13
floride_14
explore
The Originals

la classe américaine

Floride

floride
1961
scroll

FLORIDE

ALIAS

CARAVELLE

Au milieu des années 50, Pierre Dreyfus, alors président de la Régie Renault, rêve d’Amérique et décide de lancer un cabriolet pour attirer la clientèle américaine. Et voici donc Renault Floride ! Le choix (judicieux) sera fait de rebaptiser ce modèle Caravelle aux Etats-Unis, afin de ne pas vexer les clients des 49 autres États américains !

1961
floride_1
floride_2
floride_3

esprit

MON

CUSTOM

A MOI

Renault Floride, c’est la liberté ! La liberté de choisir quelle version de ce modèle “américain” de Renault vous préférez : coupé rigide, cabriolet ou cabriolet “convertible” en coupé. D’ailleurs, la version convertible ne nécessitait même pas de démonter la capote pour passer de coupé à cabriolet (grâce à un pavillon amovible).

floride_4

intérieur

UN BEST-SELLER

Une Renault Floride coupée ou cabriolet, équipée d’un moteur de 845 cm3 et, en plus, à un prix très abordable par rapport à la concurrence ? Que demander de plus ?! A priori pas grand-chose, car le succès de la Dauphine est au rendez-vous. A tel point que Renault sera dépassé par la demande et devra augmenter ses capacités de production en demandant de l’aide aux établissements Chausson et Brissonneau-et-Lotz.

floride_5
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Vous êtes partagé entre variété française et musique country ? Renault Floride est faite pour vous ! Un véritable témoignage sonore des années 60 et du rêve américain.

archives

UNE

DAUPHINE

DéCOUVERTE

Pour réaliser au plus vite ce cabriolet pensé pour séduire la clientèle américaine, Renault reprend la base technique de Renault Dauphine, car ses ventes sont déjà prometteuses outre-Atlantique. Ainsi va naître Renault Floride, le projet estampillé USA de Renault.

floride_6

caractéristiques techniques

117 000

EXEMPLAIRES

PRODUITS

  • production

    117 000 exemplaires de 1959 à 1968 (Floride + Caravelle)

  • performances et motorisation

    845 cm3

    4 cylindres en ligne

    40 ch

    125 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,26 m
    largeur 1,58 m
    hauteur 1,31 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie cabriolet deux places, cabriolet « convertible »,

    coupé rigide, coupé 2+2 (Caravelle)

    moteur longitudinal positionné à l’arrière

The Originals Store

DANS

LE RETRO

Renault Floride ou Caravelle, cette voiture saura vous inspirer. Un design rétro et américain, pour plaire aux hipsters et à leurs parents !

héritage

FLORIDE

EN SERIE

Après le lancement de Renault Floride en 1958, Renault proposera dès 1962 les Renault Floride S et 2+2 Caravelle (qui n’est pas la Caravelle d’origine, qui était Renault Floride renommée pour le marché américain : on s’y perdrait vite !). Si la première Renault Floride dérivait de Renault Dauphine, ses deux héritières sont équipées des éléments mécaniques d’un autre modèle de Renault : Renault R8.

floride_13
floride_14
explorer
The Originals