and the espace was born

Espace TSE

Espace
1987
scroll

RENAULT

REINVENTS

THE MPV

1984: At the Paris Motor Show a vehicle was turning heads. It was the Renault Espace, a one-box vehicle which would be the forerunner to the future people carriers. Spacious and ideal for large families, the atypical Renault Espace made a good impression. As its advertising slogan said: “On n’a jamais été aussi bien sur Terre que dans l’Espace” (The best place on earth is in space).

1987
Espace_01
Espace_02
Espace_03

spirit

THE HISTORIC

REFERENCE

Although sales were sluggish at first, Renault Espace soon proved its mettle due to its appearance and its spaciousness. To such an extent that other car makers followed Renault’s example, and started to offer MPVs. Although it was copied, Espace was never equalled. It made such an impression that the word “Espace” is used in France to refer to any kind of MPV.

Espace_04

interior

IT’S ALL

IN THE NAME

Developed by Matra and improved by Renault, Renault Espace entirely redesigned the passenger compartment and emphasized the roominess and modularity and, of course, the space. Seats that could rotate, fold, be removed or converted into a shelf making Espace a true traveling living room for 7.

Espace_05

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

In space no one can hear you scream (espace is the French word for space). But you can listen to the sounds of Renault Espace.

archives

CHOOSING

THE RIGHT

PROJECT

Matra made the first sketches of Espace and proposed them to... Peugeot (yes!) who refused the project (it’s called having instincts). Renault, on the other hand, saw in it an incredible opportunity. The brand had given this one-box vehicle an exceptional modular layout, for a car with living space. To such an extent that the advertising slogan for Renault Espace (4th generation) was: “What if luxury was called Espace?”

Espace_06

technical features

ONE-BOX

BODY

  • production

    191,674 vehicles from 1984 to 1991 for the first generation

    over 1,344,434 vehicles to date, over 5 generations

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders inline

    from 1995 cc to 2164 cc

    from 88 to 120 hp

    from 160 to 179 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 4,25 m
    Width 1,77 m
    Height 1 ,70 m
  • architecture

    single-volume bodywork, with front engine

    flat floor

The Originals Store

OUR

STORE

A true precursor, Renault Espace put its mark on history: you can also be a trailblazer by becoming one of the first to adopt the miniature Renault Espace.

explore
The Originals

et l'espace fut

Espace TSE

Espace
1987
scroll

RENAULT

INVENTE LE

MONOSPACE

1984 : Au Salon de l’Auto de Paris un véhicule intrigue. Il s’agit de Renault Espace, un monovolume qui sera le précurseur des futurs monospaces. Spacieux et idéal pour les familles nombreuses, l’atypique Renault Espace finira par s’imposer. Comme le dit son slogan publicitaire : « On n’a jamais été aussi bien sur Terre que dans l’Espace ».

1987
Espace_01
Espace_02
Espace_03

esprit

LA RÉFÉRENCE

HISTORIQUE

Bien que les ventes aient d’abord peiné à décoller, Renault Espace s’imposera assez rapidement pour son aspect et son habitabilité. A tel point que les autres constructeurs ont suivi l’exemple de Renault et se sont mis à proposer des monospaces. Bien qu’imité, Espace n’a jamais été égalé ; il a tellement marqué les esprits que le mot « Espace » est parfois utilisé pour désigner un monospace quel qu’il soit.

Espace_04

intérieur

TOUT EST

DANS

LE NOM

Développé par Matra et amélioré par Renault, Renault Espace repense entièrement l’habitacle en mettant l’accent sur l’habitabilité, la modularité et – bien entendu – l’espace. Des sièges pivotants, pliants et amovibles ou pouvant se transformer en tablette faisaient d’Espace un véritable salon roulant pour 7 personnes.

Espace_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Dans l’espace, personne ne vous entendra crier. Mais vous pouvez écouter les sons de Renault Espace.

archives

SENTIR

LE BON

PROJET

Matra a réalisé les premières esquisses d’Espace et les a proposées à… Peugeot (si, si) qui a refusé le projet (ce qui s’appelle avoir le nez fin). Renault en revanche y a vu une opportunité incroyable. La marque a doté ce véhicule monovolume d’une modularité hors-normes, pour en faire une voiture à vivre. A tel point que le slogan publicitaire de Renault Espace (4ème génération) était : « Et si le luxe c’était l’Espace ? ».

Espace_06

caractéristiques techniques

CARROSSERIE

MONOVOLUME

  • production

    191 674 exemplaires de 1984 à 1991 pour la première génération

    puis de 1 344 434 exemplaire à ce jour, sur 5 génération

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres en ligne longitudinal

    de 1 995 cm3 à 2 164 cm3

    de 88 à 120 cv

    de 160 à 179 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,25 m
    largeur 1,77 m
    hauteur 1 ,70 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie monovolume, à moteur avant plancher plat

The Originals Store

ESPACE

BOUTIQUE

Véritable précurseur, Renault Espace a marqué l’histoire : soyez à l’avant-garde vous aussi en devenant un des premiers à adopter la miniature Renault Espace.

explorer
The Originals