to the max

Maxi 5 Turbo

1980
scroll

THEORY OF

EVOLUTION

Launched in 1980, Renault 5 Turbo (160 hp - central engine) made no secret of its ambitions: to be the Brand’s flag bearer. Renault developed a competition version, intended for sporty clients. It went through the “Cévennes” and “Tour de Corse” versions before arriving at the “Maxi” version, the latest incarnation of this speedy little number.

1980
Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_001
Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_002
Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_003

spirit

POWER

UP

Renault 5 Turbo started out as a model for sporty clients. Its version intended for Group 4 was christened “Cévennes” (in honour of Jean Ragnotti, second in the race of the same name in 1980). From 1981, the model achieved numerous victories, thanks to the expertise of Ragnotti and Jean-Marc Andrié. When Group 4 was replaced by Group B, Renault boosted the powerful Renault 5 Turbo, renaming it “Tour de Corse”.

Renault Maxi 5 Turbo

interior

2 VERSUS

4

New Group B rules penalised Renault 5 Turbo “Tour de Corse”. Rather than going over to 4 drive wheels, Renault wanted to make its two drive wheels more powerful. Maxi 5 Turbo was born. More aerodynamic, improved suspension and a 1,527 cm3, 350 hp engine: Renault Maxi 5 Turbo was at the cutting edge of motor sport.

Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_005
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Immerse yourself in the legendary Group B rallies with the sound of Renault Maxi 5 Turbo. Full speed at full volume!

technical features

350 HP

  • production

    20

  • Performance and engine

    - Top speed: 223 km/h

    - 4-cylinder inline, Turbo

    - 1,527 cm3 - 350 hp

  • dimensions
    Length 3,70 m
    Width 1,77 m
    Height 1,32 m
  • architecture

    - Competition car based on Renault 5 Turbo

    - Rear central engine

    - 2 drive wheels

The Originals Store

MAXIMUM

DESIRE

Keen to discover Renault Maxi 5 Turbo products? Right this way!

explore
The Originals

au max

Maxi 5 Turbo

1980
scroll

THÉORIE DE

L’ÉVOLUTION

Lancée en 1980, Renault 5 Turbo (160 ch - moteur central) ne cache pas ses ambitions : être le porte-drapeau sportif de la Marque. Renault en développe une version compétition, destinée aux clients sportifs. Elle passera par les versions « Cévennes » et « Tour de Corse » pour arriver jusqu’à sa version « Maxi », l’ultime évolution en rallyes de cette boule de nerfs.

1980
Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_001
Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_002
Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_003

esprit

MONTER EN

PUISSANCE

Renault 5 Turbo débute comme modèle destiné aux clients sportifs. Sa version destinée au Groupe 4 est baptisée «Cévennes» (en l’honneur de Jean Ragnotti, seconde place dans l’épreuve du même nom en 1980). Dès 1981, le modèle remportera de nombreuses victoires, grâce à l’expertise de M. Ragnotti et Jean-Marc Andrié. Lorsque le Groupe 4 est remplacé par le Groupe B, Renault booste la puissante de Renault 5 Turbo qui est rebaptisée «Tour de Corse».

Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_004

intérieur

2 VS 4

Les nouvelles législations en Groupe B pénalisent Renault 5 Turbo « Tour de Corse ». Plutôt que de se mettre aux 4 roues motrices, Renault veut créer la plus performante des deux roues motrices. C’est la naissance de Maxi 5 Turbo. Meilleur aérodynamisme, suspensions améliorées et un moteur de 1 527 cm3 et 350 ch : Renault Maxi 5 Turbo est à la pointe de la sportivité.

Twinner_Maxi5Turbo_005
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Replongez-vous au cœur des rallyes légendaires du Groupe B avec les sons de Renault Maxi 5 Turbo. Volume et vitesse à fond !

caractéristiques techniques

350 CH

  • production

    20

  • performances et motorisation

    - Vitesse maxi : 223 km/h

    - 4 cylindres en ligne, Turbo

    - 1 527 cm3 - 350 ch

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,70 m
    largeur 1,77 m
    hauteur 1,32 m
  • architecture

    - Voiture de compétition basée sur la Renault 5 Turbo

    - Moteur central arrière

    - 2 roues motrices

The Originals Store

MAXI

ENVIE

Envie de découvrir les produits dérivés de Renault Maxi 5 Turbo ? C’est par ici !

explorer
The Originals