on the big screen

Renault 4

R4
1968
scroll

AN XL

VOLUME

HIT!

“Give me some volume!”, proclaimed Renault Chairman Pierre Dreyfus in the early 1960s: volume and space. The designers’ response was Renault 4. And speaking of volume, its production volume was even more impressive than its interior space: with 8,135,424 cars produced in 29 countries between 1961 and 1992, the “4L” is the fourth most produced car in the world.

1968
Renault4_1
Renault4_2
Renault4_3

spirit

A DREAM

FIGURE

The two-box shape, which was quite unusual in the 1960s, appealed to families and professionals, offering unbeatable interior space, especially with its “service door” (an early version of the tailgate).

Renault4_4

interior

THE LITTLE

ALL-ROUNDER

In its initial version, Renault 4 had a flat floor and a removable bench seat for easy loading. Then came the utility version to which Renault added a hinged rear roof flap, dubbed "giraffe roof" ("Girafon"), to make life even easier for professionals. In addition, this was the first Renault passenger car to benefit from front-wheel drive – the way forward!

Renault4_5
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Catch up on the sounds of 1961! From the engine to the horn, Renault 4 serves up an unmissable greatest hits collection full of wonderfully vintage sounds! Industrial metal with a 60s flavour!

archives

FREEDOM

FOR ALL!

In the 1960s, you simply couldn’t miss the Renault 4! Used by the main public services (EDF, La Poste, France Télécom), it was perhaps best known as the vehicle driven by the gendarmes. And if you are wondering why, the reason is mainly practical: Renault 4 was particularly spacious but also high, so the gendarmes could keep their hats on inside!

Renault4_6

technical features

THE 1ST RENAULT

FRONT-WHEEL

DRIVE SALOON

  • production

    8,135,424 units from 1961 to 1992

    32 year-long sales life in 100 countries

  • Performance and engine

    from 603 cm3 to 1,108 cm3

    from 20 to 34 hp

    from 90 to 120 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,67 m
    Width 1,49 m
    Height 1,55 m
  • architecture

    two-box body bolted onto the platform

    longitudinal engine placed behind the gearbox

The Originals Store

FULL

4L LOOK

For the full look or to complete your miniature collection (these are not toys but collector’s items!), the best place to go is the Renault Store.

heritage

ICONIC

4EVER

Icons never die. In 2019, a Renault 4 e-Plein Air went on show at the 4L International Meeting. This electric version of Renault 4 was built using the electric components from Twizy. Renault 4 is soon set to be revived with a new electric version and the Renaut 4Ever concept, announced at the Renault eWays event (an online event held over several days to present Renault’s vision of mobility, from 15-26 October 2020).

Renault4_25
Renault4_26
explore
The Originals

dans le carré des blockbusters

Renault 4

R4
1968
scroll

SUCCÈS

VOLUME

XL

“Faites-moi donc un volume !” : voilà précisément ce qu’attend le président de la Régie Renault, Pierre Dreyfus, au début des années 60 : du volume, de l’espace. La réponse des concepteurs fut Renault 4. Et en parlant de volume, son volume de production est plus impressionnant encore que son espace intérieur : avec 8 135 424 exemplaires produits dans 29 pays entre 1961 et 1992, “4L” est la 4ème voiture la plus produite au monde.

1968
Renault4_1
Renault4_2
Renault4_3

esprit

SILHOUETTE

DE RÊVE

La silhouette bicorps, plutôt atypique au début des années 60, faisait rêver les familles comme les professionnels, avec un espace intérieur incomparable, dû notamment à la “porte de service” (le futur hayon, pour être plus clair).

Renault4_4

intérieur

LA PETITE

A TOUT FAIRE

Dans sa version initiale, Renault 4 disposait déjà d’un plancher plat et d’une banquette amovible pour faciliter le chargement. Ensuite, pour la version utilitaire, Renault lui a ajouté un “girafon” (ce joli surnom désigne simplement un portillon au-dessus de la porte arrière) pour encore plus faciliter la vie des travailleurs. Et de plus, c’est la première voiture particulière de Renault à être dotée d’une transmission à traction : en avant !

Renault4_5

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Séance de rattrapage pour les sons de l’année 61 : du moteur au klaxon, Renault 4 nous livre un best-of incontournable, teinté de sonorités délicieusement rétro. Du métal industriel à la sauce 60s !

archives

LIBERTÉ

POUR TOUS !

Dans les années 60, impossible de rater Renault 4 ! Utilisée par les principaux services (EDF, La Poste, France Télécom), elle était aussi et surtout très populaire comme véhicule pour la gendarmerie. Et si vous vous demandez pourquoi, la raison est très pratique : Renault 4 étant particulièrement spacieuse et haute, les gendarmes pouvaient s’y installer sans enlever leur képi !

Renault4_6

caractéristiques techniques

1ERE BERLINE

A TRACTION

RENAULT

  • production

    8 135 424 exemplaires de 1961 à 1992

    32 ans de vie commerciale dans plus de 100 pays

  • performances et motorisation

    de 603 cm3 à 1.108 cm3

    de 20 à 34 ch

    de 90 à 120 km/h (selon versions)

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,67 m
    largeur 1,49 m
    hauteur 1,55 m
  • architecture

    carrosserie bi-corps boulonnée sur platefome séparée

    moteur longitudinal positionné derrière la boîte de vitesses

The Originals Store

TOTAL

LOOK 4L

Pour adopter un total look ou pour compléter sa collec’ de modèles réduits (ce n’est pas un jouet, c’est une pièce de collection !), rien de mieux que de shopper sur la boutique Renault.

héritage

ICONIQUE

4EVER

Les icônes ne meurent jamais. Dès 2019, une Renault 4 e-Plein Air a été présentée au Meeting 4L International. Cette version électrique de Renault 4 a été créée avec les éléments électriques de Twizy. Prochainement, Renault 4 va renaître dans une nouvelle version électrique, avec le concept Renault 4Ever, qui a été annoncé lors de l’événement Renault eWays (cet ensemble de journées 100 % numériques portant sur la vision de Renault de la mobilité s’est déroulé du 15 au 26 octobre 2020).

Renault4_25
Renault4_26
explorer
The Originals