luxury and aerodynamics

Nerva grand sport

Nerva grand sport 1
1934
scroll

STYLISH

In the 1930s, the automotive industry was striving for speed and power. The best way to demonstrate and adopt this trend through an aerodynamic design. The Viva and Nerva ranges fully embraced the trend, with bodies that practically cut through the wind. They were first unveiled at the 1934 Paris Motor Show before launching under their “final” name. Thus, Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport was originally released as Nervastella Grand Sport.

1934
Twinner_nervagrandsport_001
Twinner_nervagrandsport_002
Twinner_nervagrandsport_003

spirit

PRESTIGIOUS

Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport is part of the Stella lineage, Renault’s high-end range in the 1930s. As a Stella, it is stamped with the shooting star emblem in place of the brand’s iconic diamond. Its wide, enveloping body ensured optimum comfort for passengers. After its launch in 1934, the model would be followed in 1936 by the Renault Nerva Grand Sport ABM 7 range, available in four bodies: coach, cabriolet, coupe and a sedan with a prominent rear boot. In addition to prestige, the ads of the time promised that the cabriolet offered “a new joy for life with a Renault Grand Sport”.

Twinner_nervagrandsport_004

interior

GRAND EIGHT

From the 6-cylinder Viva range, Renault went on to develop Nerva, its 8-cylinder range. Few units of its pre-series model, Renault Nervastella Grand Sport, would be produced, as the definitive model, Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport, was launched the winter following its unveiling at the 1934 Paris Motor Show. Nerva Grand Sport would be Renault’s first 8-cylinder car to be fitted with the brand’s powerful 5.4-litre engine, which pushed the needle past 145 km/h, despite the vehicle’s weight of 2.4 tons!

Twinner_nervagrandsport_005
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Listen to the roar of the Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport’s 8-cylinder engine.

archives

EXCEPTIONAL CAR(S)

Released in 1936, Nerva Grand Sport was Renault’s last pre-war high-end star model. At the time, the six-seater convertible coach costed 47,000 francs, making it 28,900 francs more expensive than a humble Celtaquatre. The price tag did nothing to dissuade posh consumers. Production of the limited edition Renault Nerva Grand Sport ABM 7 was capped at just 104 units, drawing in big names of the era, such as the great Joséphine Baker.

Archives_Nervagrandsport_001

technical features

2,400 KG

  • production

    104 units for Nerva Grand Sport ABM 7

  • Performance and engine

    8-cylinder inline

    5,448 cc, 115 hp

  • dimensions
    Length 4.85 m
    Width 1.75 m
    Height 1.63 m
  • architecture

    - Sedan with an enveloping body and substantial usable width

    - propulsion

The Originals Store

GRAND SPORT,

GRAND SHOP.

For exceptional products like Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport, hurry to The Originals Renault shop.

explore
The Originals

luxe et aéro

Nerva grand sport

Nerva grand sport 1
1934
scroll

À LA MODE

Dans les années 30, vitesse et puissance sont les maîtres-mots dans l’automobile. Et la meilleure façon de le montrer est d’adopter la mode de l’époque en termes de design : l’aérodynamisme. Les gammes Viva et Nerva en profitent pour proposer des carrosseries résolument profilées par le vent. Ces deux modèles seront d’abord présentés au Salon de Paris en 1934, puis lancés sous leur nom « final ». Ainsi, Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport sera initialement dévoilée sous le nom Nervastella Grand Sport.

1934
Twinner_nervagrandsport_001
Twinner_nervagrandsport_002
Twinner_nervagrandsport_003

esprit

PRESTIGIEUSE

Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport fait partie de la lignée des Stella, la griffe haut de gamme de Renault dans les années 30. Elle arbore donc la fameuse étoile filante à la place de l’habituel emblème de la marque, le losange. Sa carrosserie enveloppante garantit une grande largeur utile, pour le plus grand confort des passagers. Après son lancement en 1934, le modèle sera suivi en 1936 par la gamme Renault Nerva Grand Sport ABM 7, dérivée en 4 carrosseries : coach, cabriolet, coupé et berline avec malle arrière apparente. En plus du prestige, si on en croit les publicités de l’époque, le cabriolet promet « une nouvelle joie de vivre avec une Grand Sport Renault ».

Twinner_nervagrandsport_004

intérieur

GRAND HUIT

La gamme Nerva est la gamme 8 cylindres de Renault (contre 6 cylindres pour la gamme Viva). Dans cette gamme, Renault Nervastella Grand Sport, le modèle d’avant-série, ne sera que peu produit car le modèle définitif, Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport, sera lancé dès l’hiver suivant sa présentation au Salon de Paris (1934). Nerva Grand Sport sera la première voiture à 8 cylindres de Renault dotée du nouveau moteur de 5,4 l de la marque. Ce moteur surpuissant lui permet de dépasser les 145 km/h, malgré ses 2,4 tonnes sur la balance !

Twinner_nervagrandsport_005
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Écoutez le rugissement du moteur 8 cylindres de Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport.

archives

VOITURE(S) D’EXCEPTION

Apparue en 1936, la Nerva Grand Sport est le dernier fleuron du haut de gamme Renault d'avant-guerre. Le modèle coach décapotable à six places de la Nerva Grand Sport coûte à l’époque 47 000 Francs, soit 28 900 Francs de plus qu’une modeste Celtaquatre. Ce prix n’arrêtera pas la clientèle huppée. Une édition limitée, Renault Nerva Grand Sport ABM 7, sera produite à seulement 104 exemplaires et s’attirera les faveurs des grands noms de l’époque, notamment la célèbre Joséphine Baker.

Archives_Nervagrandsport_001

caractéristiques techniques

2400 KG

  • production

    104 exemplaires Nerva Grand Sport ABM 7

  • performances et motorisation

    Vitesse maxi : 145 km/h

    8 cylindres en ligne

    5448 cm3 - 115 ch

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,85 m
    largeur 1,75 m
    hauteur 1,63 m
  • architecture

    - Berline dotée d’une carrosserie enveloppante avec une grande largeur utile

    - propulsion

The Originals Store

GRAND SPORT,

GRAND SHOP.

Pour des produits aussi exceptionnels que Renault Berline Nerva Grand Sport, foncez sur la boutique Renault The Originals.

explorer
The Originals