the latina

Torino TS

1966
scroll

ARGENTINE

TANGO

It all began with Argentina wanting an automotive industry of its own. The country turned to the US manufacturer Kaiser, which founded its Argentine subsidiary Industrias Kaiser Argentina (IKA) in 1956. Three years later, Renault signed an agreement with IKA to produce Dauphine in Argentina. But IKA wanted a 100% Argentine model. Along came Torino TS, which entered the Renault catalogue when the brand took full control of IKA in 1970.

1966
Twinner_Torino_001
Twinner_Torino_002
Twinner_Torino_003

spirit

“DELUXE”

VERSION

After its takeover by Renault, IKA became Renault Argentina in 1975. Renault Torino TS then became an integral part of the French manufacturer’s range, alongside the Renault 6 and Renault 12 of the time (also produced in Argentina). In this range, Renault Torino TS, with its large US engine (6-cylinder inline, 155 to 176 hp), was billed as a luxury car.

Renault Torino

interior

MUSCULAR,

JUST BECAUSE...

Because of its US origin, Renault Torino TS had an unforgettable 6-cylinder inline engine with a cubic capacity of 3,770 cm3. It delivered 155 or 176 hp depending on the version (standard or sport). The production car “only” weighed 1,070 kg and could reach speeds of around 180 km/h.

Twinner_Torino_005
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

Feel the tango rhythm with this Latin American model.

archives

JET

SET

Renault Torino TS was very quickly adopted by the Argentinians, who considered it the ultimate Argentine car. Its success even led to it being favoured by famous customers, such as the incredible driver Fangio, Léonid Brejnev and even Fidel Castro. A success beyond politics!

Archives_Torino

technical features

155 TO 176 HP

  • production

    - approximately 100,000 units (all versions).

  • Performance and engine

    - top speed: approx. 180 km/h

    - 6-cylinder inline,

    - 3,770 cm3

    - 155 or 176 hp depending on version (standard or sport)

  • dimensions
    Length 4,74 m
    Width 1,8 m
    Height 1,42 m
  • architecture

    - Saloon and three-box Coupé

The Originals Store

LATINO VERSION

Shop while it's hot, in the colours of Renault Argentina.

explore
The Originals

la sud-américaine

Torino TS

1966
scroll

TANGO

ARGENTIN

Tout commence lorsque l’Argentine veut se doter d’une industrie automobile. Le pays se tourne alors vers le constructeur américain Kaiser, qui fonde sa filiale argentine Industrias Kaiser Argentina (IKA) en 1956. Trois ans plus tard, Renault signe un accord avec IKA pour produire Dauphine en Argentine. Mais IKA veut un modèle 100 % argentin ; ce sera Torino TS, qui s’inscrira au catalogue de Renaut lorsque la marque prendra le contrôle total d’IKA en 1970.

1966
Twinner_Torino_001
Twinner_Torino_002
Twinner_Torino_003

esprit

VERSION

« DELUXE »

Après son rachat par Renault, IKA deviendra Renault Argentina en 1975. Renault Torino TS fait alors partie intégrante de la gamme du constructeur français, parmi les Renault 6 et Renault 12 de l’époque (également produites en Argentine). Au sein de cette gamme, Renault Torino TS, avec son gros moteur américain (un 6 cylindres en ligne de 155 à 176 ch) est positionnée comme voiture de luxe.

Renault Torino

intérieur

MUSCLÉE, CAR…

Par son origine américaine, Renault Torino TS dispose d’un moteur qui marque les esprits. Ce 6 cylindres en ligne de 3 770 cm3 pouvait développer 155 ou 176 ch selon les versions (standard ou sport). La voiture de série ne pesant « que » 1 070 kg, elle pouvait atteindre environ 180 km/h.

Twinner_Torino_005
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Comme un air de tango avec ce modèle destiné à l’Amérique Latine.

archives

JET SET

Renault Torino TS a très vite été adoptée par les Argentins, qui la considéraient comme LA voiture argentine par excellence. Son succès lui valut même d’être acquise par des clients célèbres, tels que l’incroyable pilote Fangio, Léonid Brejnev ou encore Fidel Castro. Un succès au-delà de toute politique !

Archives_Torino

caractéristiques techniques

155 À 176 CH

  • production

    100 000 exemplaires environ (toutes versions confondues).

  • performances et motorisation

    vitesse maxi : environ 180 km/h

    6 cylindres en ligne

    3 770 cm3

    155 ou 176 ch selon version (standard ou sport)

  • dimensions
    longueur 4,74 m
    largeur 1,8 m
    hauteur 1,42 m
  • architecture

    berline et coupé tricorps

The Originals Store

VERSION LATINO

Venez réaliser des achats caliente, aux couleurs de Renault Argentine.

explorer
The Originals