turbo for everyone

R5 Turbo

R5_Turbo
1982
scroll

TIMELESS

The victory of Renault Alpine A 442 B at the 24 Heures du Mans in 1978 gave Renault some ideas. Its Renault 5 had already been a best-seller for 6 years. No other car would be better placed as the springboard for an ambitious project for Renault, namely to offer the 1st French car with turbocharged petrol engine as standard.

1982

spirit

AIM

HIGHER

Given the success of Renault 5, the “diamond” brand wanted to pull the brand towards the high-end with its sporty versions. First result: Renault 5 Alpine in 1976. Then, the car maker developed Renault 5 Turbo, a first mock-up of which was revealed at the Paris Motor Show in 1978. Renault 5 Turbo was officially launched in 1980.

interior

THE FOCUS

OF IT ALL:

THE ENGINE

The first thing you noticed inside Renault 5 Turbo was that there’s no rear seat. Conceived by Jean Terramorsi and designed by Yves Legal, the speedster removed the “unnecessary” bench seat to make space for the engine. The engine, in the central rear position, developed up to 350 hp depending on the version, thus reflecting Renault 5 Turbo’s sporty DNA, designed for competitive racing.

Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

The sounds of Renault 5 Turbo will transport you back to the 80s, at the wheel of a sporty little spitfire.

archives

GOOD LUCK

COMES IN THREES

Due to its technical complexity, Renault 5 Turbo was produced on three sites: at Flins, around 40 km from Paris (for the shell), at Heuliez in Cerizay, around 90 km from Nantes (for adaptation of the shell) and at Alpine in Dieppe, on the Channel (for painting and final assembly).

technical features

UP TO

350 HP

  • production

    4857 units

  • Performance and engine

    4 cylinders + turbocharger

    1397 to 1527 cc

    160 to 350 hp

    from 200 to 223 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 3,66 m
    Width 1,75 m
    Height 1 ,32 m
  • architecture

    hatchback saloon

    rear-wheel drive

    rear mid-engine

The Originals Store

TURN UP

THE TURBO...

Rush to find the Renault 5 Turbo miniature!

heritage

A COLLECTOR’S

DREAM

With its impact in the field of motor sports and its position as the leading French standard car with turbocharged petrol engine, Renault 5 Turbo made a strong impression and became a cult car, highly sought after by collectors.

explore
The Originals

turbo démocratique

R5 Turbo

R5_Turbo
1982
scroll

CULTE

La victoire de Renault Alpine A 442 B aux 24 Heures du Mans en 1978 donne des idées à Renault. Sa Renault 5 rencontre un franc succès depuis déjà 6 ans. Aucune autre voiture ne serait donc mieux placée pour donner naissance à un projet ambitieux de Renault : proposer la 1ère voiture française de série à moteur essence turbocompressé.

1982

esprit

VISER

PLUS

HAUT

Au vu du succès de Renault 5, la marque au losange veut tirer la gamme vers le haut grâce à des versions sportives. Premier résultat : Renault 5 Alpine en 1976. Puis, le constructeur développera Renault 5 Turbo, dont une première maquette sera dévoilée au Salon de l’Auto de Paris en 1978. Renault 5Turbo sera officiellement lancée en 1980.

intérieur

AU CENTRE

DE TOUT :

LE MOTEUR

La première chose que l’on remarque à l’intérieur de Renault 5 Turbo c’est l’absence de banquette arrière. Imaginée par Jean Terramorsi et dessinée par Yves Legal, le bolide supprime la banquette « superflue » pour laisser la place au moteur. Celui-ci, en position centrale arrière, développe jusqu’à 350 ch selon les versions, reflétant ainsi l’ADN sportif de Renault 5 Turbo, destinée à courir en compétition.

Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Les sons de Renault 5 Turbo, c’est l’entrée en fanfare dans les années 80, au volant d’une petite bombe sportive.

archives

JAMAIS

2 SANS 3

Du fait de sa complexité technique, Renault 5 Turbo est produite sur 3 sites : à Flins, à environ 40 km de Paris (pour la coque), chez Heuliez à Cerizay, à environ 90 km de Nantes (pour l’adaptation de la coque) et chez Alpine à Dieppe, sur la Manche (pour la peinture et l’assemblage final).

caractéristiques techniques

JUSQU’À

350 CH

  • production

    4 857 exemplaires

  • performances et motorisation

    4 cylindres + turbocompresseur

    1 397 à 1 527 cm3

    160 à 350 ch

    200 à 223 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 3,66 m
    largeur 1,75 m
    hauteur 1 ,32 m
  • architecture

    berline bicorps

    propulsion

    moteur en position centrale arrière

The Originals Store

ON MET

LE TURBO…

Et on fonce découvrir les produits Renault 5 Turbo !

héritage

BÊTE DE

COLLECTION

Grâce à son impact dans le milieu du sport automobile et à sa place de première voiture française de série à moteur essence turbocompressé, Renault 5 Turbo a marqué les esprits et est devenu une voiture de collection culte et très recherchée par les collectionneurs.

explorer
The Originals