and then there was renault!

Type A

typeA
1898
scroll

THE START OF

A LONG ADVENTURE

In 1897, Louis Renault was 19 years old. He was fascinated by a recent invention – the motor car! While working as a draughtsman at Delaunay-Belleville (a former boiler-making company that converted to car-making at the beginning of the 20th century), he embarked on the ambitious project of designing his own car. By Christmas 1898, his Renault Type A was ready.

1898
typea_01
typea_02
typea_03

spirit

THE GAMBLE

PAID OFF!

Proud of his creation, Louis Renault brought his friends together over the festive period and bragged that he would be able to climb Rue Lepic, the steepest street in Paris, in his Renault Type A. And he did! After watching his exploit (remember, it was quite exceptional at the time!), 12 of his friends ordered a model of the first Renault motor car.

typea_04

interior

CARRIAGE

STYLE

typea_05
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN TO

THIS PLAYLIST

The sounds of Renault Type A are a welcome blast from the past, with plenty of power to shake things up! In short, a testosterone-driven waltz!

technical features

THE 1ST

RENAULT

CAR

  • production

    approximately 80 from 1898 to 1899

  • Performance and engine

    Dion-Bouton single-cylinder unit

    273 cm3

    1.75 hp

    around 35 kph

  • dimensions
    Length 1,85 m
    Width 1,10 m
    Height 1,36 m

The Originals Store

RENAULT

PASSION NOW

HAS ITS

OWN STORE!

A Renault fan or just a classic car enthusiast? There’s something here for you!

heritage

ROOM FOR TWO,

CENTURY AFTER

CENTURY

Renault’s history started with a voiturette. In 2011, the diamond brand revived the two-seater concept, giving it an electric twist with the launch of Renault Twizy. This all-electric vehicle, fully customisable and ideal for the city, was the best-selling electric model in 2012.

typea_16
typea_17
explore
The Originals

et la renault fut !

Type A

typeA
1898
scroll

PRÉFACE

D'UNE

LONGUE

HISTOIRE

En 1897, Louis Renault a 19 ans. Il a pour passion une toute récente invention : l’automobile. Alors qu’il travaille comme dessinateur chez Delaunay-Belleville (une ancienne entreprise de chaudronnerie qui se reconvertit dans l’automobile au début du XXè siècle), il se lance dans le projet ambitieux de créer sa propre automobile. Sa Renault Type A sera prête à Noël 1898.

1898
typea_01
typea_02
typea_03

esprit

PARI TENU !

Fier de sa réalisation, Louis Renault, entouré de ses amis pour le réveillon, fait le pari de monter au volant de sa Renault Type A la rue Lepic, qui est la rue la plus pentue de Paris. Et le succès est au rendez-vous ! En voyant cet exploit (il faut se remettre dans le contexte de l’époque), 12 de ses amis lui commandent un exemplaire de la première automobile Renault.

typea_04

intérieur

STYLE

CALÈCHE

typea_05
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Les sons de Renault Type A sont délicieusement rétro, avec tout de même assez de décibels pour faire vibrer. Bref, une valse testostéronée !

caractéristiques techniques

LA 1ÈRE

VOITURE

DE RENAULT

  • production

    approximativement 80 entre 1898/1899

  • performances et motorisation

    monocylindre de Dion-Bouton

    273 cm3

    1,75 ch

    environ 35 km/h

  • dimensions
    longueur 1,85 m
    largeur 1,10 m
    hauteur 1,36 m

The Originals Store

LA PASSION

RENAULT

A TROUVÉ

SA BOUTIQUE !

Véritable fan de Renault ou simple amateur de véhicules classiques, chacun y trouvera son bonheur.

héritage

BIPLACE SIÈCLE

APRÈS SIÈCLE

L’histoire de Renault a commencé avec une voiturette. En 2011, la marque au losange reprend l’idée d’une bi-place mais avec un twist électrique : c’est le lancement de Renault Twizy. 100 % électrique, idéal pour la ville et hyper personnalisable, Renault Twizy sera le modèle électrique le plus vendu en 2012.

typea_16
typea_17
explorer
The Originals