let yourself be carried away

Type PR

Renault Type PR 1
1909
scroll

PRACTICAL RANGE

Louis Renault wasted no time diving into the world of buses and coaches, with Renault delivering its first bus to the Compagnie Générale des Omnibus as early as 1909. A few years later, this bus was followed by “PR”, a crossover between a large vehicle and an LCV. Renault Type PR covers a wide range of LCVs that adapt to the needs of professionals.

1909
Twinner_typePR_001
Twinner_typePR_002
Twinner_typePR_003

spirit

TOURIST SHUTTLE

The name Renault Type PR refers to a catalogue of the brand’s LCVs. This vehicle would lead to the birth of a 10-seater lightweight coach. Most often, these small coaches were used to shuttle tourists or spa patrons between the train station and hotels.

Twinner_typePR_004

interior

ADDITIONAL SEATS

Renault Type PR was a lightweight 10-seater expandable coach. An extended version housing a 6-cylinder 3,180 cc engine could carry up to 18 passengers.

Twinner_typePR_005
Click on the car to start exploring
360°

original soundtrack

LISTEN

TO THIS

PLAYLIST

The sounds of Renault Type PR are the holiday soundtrack in the 1920s.

archives

ORIGIN STORY

In 1911, the first convertible buses were produced. These enormous 15-seater vehicles were powered by a 14-horsepower 4-cylinder engine. In 1925, torpedo coaches were also commissioned to transport people in the mountains, where the train was unable to access. That same year, the first Parisian buses were delivered to the STCRP (Société de Transports en Commun de la Région Parisienne). The PN, PY and TN would later supply the networks in Paris, Marseille, Strasbourg and Nice. These models were followed by Renault Type PR, offering a range of LCVs.

Archives_TypePR_001

technical features

10 SEATS

  • Performance and engine

    max. speed: about 65 km/h

    4-cylinder

    2,120 cc

  • dimensions
    Length 5.50 m
    Width 1.90 m
    Height 2.36 m
  • architecture

    Lightweight 10-seater coach...

    up to 18 passengers in the extended version.

The Originals Store

GROUP PRICE?

Why not shop as a group, like in the Renault Type PR designed for public transport?

heritage

UNIQUE DESIGN

Leaping forward several decades (from the 1920s to the 1970s), Renault would revive the Renault Type PR name, first with a bus produced by Berliet (from 1970 to 1980) then by Renault (from 1980 to 1999). This Renault PR 100 bus is the first mass-produced French rear-engine bus (with over 11,000 units, all models included). The standard version measured 12 metres long, and the articulated version was 18 metres. The 100 was added to the name to represented the number of seats; we have come a long way from the 1927 10-seater version in response to the changing needs for public transport over the years.

Heritage_typePR_001
Heritage_typePR_002
explore
The Originals

laissez-vous transporter

Type PR

Renault Type PR 1
1909
scroll

GAMME UTILE

Louis Renault s'est rapidement intéressé aux autobus et autocars puisqu'un des premiers autobus Renault a été livré à la Compagnie Générale des Omnibus dès 1909. Quelques années ensuite, cet autobus sera suivi par « PR », une sorte de mix entre grosse voiture et utilitaire. Renault Type PR désigne ainsi toute une vaste gamme de véhicules utilitaires s’adaptant aux besoins des professionnels.

1909
Twinner_typePR_001
Twinner_typePR_002
Twinner_typePR_003

esprit

TOURISTES EN

VUE

Renault Type PR correspond à une appellation liée au catalogue des véhicules utilitaires de la marque. Ce véhicule a permis de donner naissance à un autocar léger de dix places assises. La plupart du temps, ces petits autocars sont affectés au service de navette entre les hôtels et la gare pour transporter les touristes ou curistes voyageant en chemin de fer.

Twinner_typePR_004

intérieur

PLACES EN

SUPPLÉMENT

Renault Type PR était un autocar léger de 10 places assises qui était extensible. En effet, dans une version rallongée et équipée du moteur 6 cylindres de 3180 cm3, il pouvait transporter jusqu’à 18 personnes.

Twinner_typePR_005
Touchez la voiture pour commencer à l’explorer
360°

bande-originale

ÉCOUTE

CE FLOW

Les sons de Renault Type PR, c’est la bande-son des vacances des années 1920.

archives

ORIGIN STORY

En 1911, les premiers autobus à carrosserie décapotable ont été produits. Ils pouvaient accueillir 15 personnes assises, transportées dans une sorte d'immense voiture mue par un quatre cylindres de 14 CV. En 1925, des cars torpédo étaient également mis en service pour les transports de personnes en montagne, là où le train ne pouvait accéder. La même année, les premiers bus parisiens équipent la STCRP (Société de Transports en Commun de la Région Parisienne). Le PN, le PY, le TN lui succèderont, qui équiperont le réseau parisien mais aussi ceux de Marseille, Strasbourg ou Nice par exemple. Renault Type PR succèdera à ces modèles, et proposera une gamme d’utilitaires.

Archives_TypePR_001

caractéristiques techniques

10 PLACES

  • performances et motorisation

    vitesse maxi : 65 km/h environ

    4 cylindres

    2 120 cm3

  • dimensions
    longueur 5,50 m
    largeur 1,90 m
    hauteur 2,36 m
  • architecture

    Autocar léger de 10 places assises …

    extensible jusqu’à 18 personnes en version rallongée.

The Originals Store

PRIX DE

GROUPE ?

Pourquoi ne pas faire les boutiques à plusieurs, comme dans ce Renault Type PR dédié aux transports en commun ?

héritage

APPELLATION D’ORIGINE

CONTRÔLÉE

En faisant un bond dans le temps conséquent (des années 20 aux années 70, tout de même !), Renault renoue avec l’appellation Renault Type PR. Ce nom désignera d’abord un type d’autobus produits par Berliet (de 1970 à 1980), puis par Renault (de 1980 à 1999). Cet autobus Renault PR 100 est le premier autobus français à moteur arrière à être produit en grande série (plus de 11 000 exemplaires tous modèles confondus) avec une longueur allant de 12 m pour la version standard à 18 m pour la version articulée. Ici, le 100 de l’appellation PR 100 désigne le nombre de places. On est loin des 10 places assises de notre version de 1927 mais les besoins de transports de personnes ont changé entre temps.

Heritage_typePR_001
Heritage_typePR_002
explorer
The Originals